We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Save
Review Highlights
Good music, average food.

Four of us came here on our last night in Lisbon. Having just had a look some of the reviews here... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
Blackiecat46
,
Hobart, Australia
Taste of Authentic Fado in Lisbon

My family of 5 (2 adults and 2 teens, 1 pre-teen) were lucky to find Fado in the Box at the very... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2018
AC12017
,
New York City, New York
Read all 368 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lisbon
from $86.90
More Info
from $52.10
More Info
from $73.38
More Info
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
102
111
70
44
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
111
70
44
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fado singers great fado fado starts fish of the day visited this restaurant female singer wonderful introduction glass of wine tapas bairro alto performance soulful emotions audience cuisine maria pace
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 368 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Mediocre service, food, and drinks (!!) coupled with unexpectedly medium quality performance. Guests are mainly elder tourists.
All these will cost you a little fortune for the dinner. Not value for money for sure.

2  Thank Dmitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2015

We visited this restaurant with 6 persons last week. We order wine and food but de to stomach problems one of us coud not eat.
The waitress however said that our compagnon could not just sit there and had to order for a minimum charge of around € 27,=
This is utterly rediculous, but she left us no choise.
The food was as mentioned under par with respect to the price we payed.
All in: I cannot recommend this restaurant!

Thank Rene532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015

I was part of an Insight Vacations group tour, and our guide had said it was a dressy, upscale dining experience with excellent food. He was also getting a commission on the $64 it cost, I'm sure. Jammed into a room, hard to see, unedible food so not an 'upscale' experience. I loved the guitars and could tolerate the singing, Fado just isn't for me. Knowing tour groups cram the place, I would stay far, far away. At least the wine was unlimited ;)

1  Thank PamWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

When we arrived, a performance was already on. The staff ensured we understood to be very quiet and wait near the back until it was over (most Fado songs and sets are fairly short). Within 5-8 min, after already realizing we were hearing some wonderful Fado, we were seated. The prices are high IF people think they're ONLY paying for the food. But I wonder how much the people who've complained about the food prices here have paid for concert tickets? There were 3 different singers who performed several 12-18 min sets each and then finished with all 3 performing a few songs. It was fabulous. The food was good and the wine, though expensive was great. The service was very good and the whole staff clearly conveyed to the patrons that we were all (staff included) to be quiet and pay attention to the performances and they were also often the first to applaud at the end of many songs. Nobody asked for money for the performers after, that's the whole point of the higher food prices. It's built in. At a cheaper place, people talked away, disturbing us and the performers. And, the staff at the cheaper place didn't have the thought to ask the noisy patrons to be quiet, I almost did.

1  Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadoandFood, Gerente at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Dir Sir/Madam, about our service at Adega Machado, you were so accurate and reansonable. It gives high motivation for staff of this house.

Next time in Lisbon, please let us know, we would like to thank you personally.

Thank you very much for your visit and preference! All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015

First the good: the restaurant is very upscale looking with exceptionally clean bathrooms. But, beyond that, there is not too much to recommend for this restaurant. The food's mediocrity was only exceeded by its price. We had one drink each (house wine and a beer) plus a bottle of water, one appetizer each plus a simple fish dish ... final cost: 130 Euros. The food lacked any type of sophistication - just a basic meal that should cost no more than 60 Euros. On top of that, the air conditioning was so cold that we were miserable the entire time. When we asked the manager to turn it down, he said it was controlled by "the computer" and he had no control over it. What fiction and what a waste of money. Every vacation has memorable highlights and lowlights. This dining experience will be remembered by us for many years, but unfortunately for the wrong reasons.

2  Thank rjp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadoandFood, Gerente at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

After reading your statement we feel miserable. The only compliment is about the toilette? Thats something but surely not enough.
Due so, we made up the analysis about the service in that day. Fortunely we are quite secure about the quality of our fado show and food, it has a good standard.

About the air conditioned, as a matter of fact we had some days a problem with the control of the the machine.

It will be so nice, maybe fair if could return some other time and maybe change your impressions?

Anyway, thank you for the visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews