We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music treated with great respect. Attentive service and pretty good food.”
Review of Adega Machado

Adega Machado
Ranked #12 of 57 Concerts & Shows in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1937 it was named "Barrete Verde" but soon iit was changed to the final name that acquired national and international fame: ADEGA MACHADO. Today one may find a Fado House that renders homage to its history, to the founders and to all those who have added their personal and professional experiences to the memories of ADEGA MACHADO. In the Fado, Amalia Rodrigues proved her affection to this House with two yearly galas; the charismatics Alfredo Marceneiro and Fernando Mauricio came back many times. There are many to be named, but amongst those the interpreters Manuel Fernandes, Francisco Carvalhinho, Raul Nery, Adelino Santos, Beatriz da Conceicao, Maria Amelia Proenca, Maria da Fe and Mariza. The space was totally refurbished based on a new project, with a total preservation of the famous tiled facade and in the interior an area was created to display the large collection of historical images: paintings, drawings and photographs, property of the Machado Family. There is now an additional area, the Wine Cellar that serves traditional tidbits together with a large choice of Portuguese wines.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

When we arrived, a performance was already on. The staff ensured we understood to be very quiet and wait near the back until it was over (most Fado songs and sets are fairly short). Within 5-8 min, after already realizing we were hearing some wonderful Fado, we were seated. The prices are high IF people think they're ONLY paying for the food. But I wonder how much the people who've complained about the food prices here have paid for concert tickets? There were 3 different singers who performed several 12-18 min sets each and then finished with all 3 performing a few songs. It was fabulous. The food was good and the wine, though expensive was great. The service was very good and the whole staff clearly conveyed to the patrons that we were all (staff included) to be quiet and pay attention to the performances and they were also often the first to applaud at the end of many songs. Nobody asked for money for the performers after, that's the whole point of the higher food prices. It's built in. At a cheaper place, people talked away, disturbing us and the performers. And, the staff at the cheaper place didn't have the thought to ask the noisy patrons to be quiet, I almost did.

1  Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadoandFood, Gerente at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Dir Sir/Madam, about our service at Adega Machado, you were so accurate and reansonable. It gives high motivation for staff of this house.

Next time in Lisbon, please let us know, we would like to thank you personally.

Thank you very much for your visit and preference! All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fado restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"great fado"
in 6 reviews
"experience fado"
in 5 reviews
"fado starts"
in 2 reviews
"fish of the day"
in 2 reviews
"visited this restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"female singer"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful introduction"
in 2 reviews
"glass of wine"
in 4 reviews
"tapas"
in 4 reviews
"bairro alto"
in 4 reviews
"performance"
in 13 reviews
"performers"
in 9 reviews
"soulful"
in 4 reviews
"emotions"
in 3 reviews
"emotional"
in 3 reviews
"audience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

88 - 92 of 353 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2015

First the good: the restaurant is very upscale looking with exceptionally clean bathrooms. But, beyond that, there is not too much to recommend for this restaurant. The food's mediocrity was only exceeded by its price. We had one drink each (house wine and a beer) plus a bottle of water, one appetizer each plus a simple fish dish ... final cost: 130 Euros. The food lacked any type of sophistication - just a basic meal that should cost no more than 60 Euros. On top of that, the air conditioning was so cold that we were miserable the entire time. When we asked the manager to turn it down, he said it was controlled by "the computer" and he had no control over it. What fiction and what a waste of money. Every vacation has memorable highlights and lowlights. This dining experience will be remembered by us for many years, but unfortunately for the wrong reasons.

2  Thank rjp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadoandFood, Gerente at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

After reading your statement we feel miserable. The only compliment is about the toilette? Thats something but surely not enough.
Due so, we made up the analysis about the service in that day. Fortunely we are quite secure about the quality of our fado show and food, it has a good standard.

About the air conditioned, as a matter of fact we had some days a problem with the control of the the machine.

It will be so nice, maybe fair if could return some other time and maybe change your impressions?

Anyway, thank you for the visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2014

We had a great experience at the Michael. We did not eat and were quoted 17euros for entrance and 1drink each we chose a good wine and settled down to watch the fade. The musicians were brilliant the 2 female singers were good but one set by the lead guitarist was the highlight his voice was moving and sorrowful he moved my wife to tears. Later in the evening the manager gave us a complementary drink and we were only charged 22euros. All in all a great night.

Thank LondonShrewsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2014

Just had a lovely time at this restaurant . The service was good, the food good and the musicians excellent. It is mostly for tourist like myself, for a good price. Had a very nice
evening in the heart of nightlife in Lisbon,

Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2014

I had never experienced fado before but thoroughly enjoyed the lead (?) singer who also played guitar, wonderful singer, very comfortable on stage. The two other singers were more difficult to judge for because I do not speak Portuguese, but I found their performances less desire able and they had very short sets. The food was adequate, seats in the back cannot see the performances at all so avoid these if you can.

1  Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega Machado also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Adega Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing