We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Review Highlights
Good music, average food.

Four of us came here on our last night in Lisbon. Having just had a look some of the reviews here... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
Hobart, Australia
Taste of Authentic Fado in Lisbon

My family of 5 (2 adults and 2 teens, 1 pre-teen) were lucky to find Fado in the Box at the very... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2018
New York City, New York
Read all 368 reviews
Recommended experiences in and around Lisbon
from $86.90
More Info
from $52.10
More Info
from $73.38
More Info
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fado singers great fado fado starts fish of the day visited this restaurant female singer wonderful introduction glass of wine tapas bairro alto performance soulful emotions audience cuisine maria pace
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 368 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2015

First the good: the restaurant is very upscale looking with exceptionally clean bathrooms. But, beyond that, there is not too much to recommend for this restaurant. The food's mediocrity was only exceeded by its price. We had one drink each (house wine and a beer) plus a bottle of water, one appetizer each plus a simple fish dish ... final cost: 130 Euros. The food lacked any type of sophistication - just a basic meal that should cost no more than 60 Euros. On top of that, the air conditioning was so cold that we were miserable the entire time. When we asked the manager to turn it down, he said it was controlled by "the computer" and he had no control over it. What fiction and what a waste of money. Every vacation has memorable highlights and lowlights. This dining experience will be remembered by us for many years, but unfortunately for the wrong reasons.

2  Thank rjp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadoandFood, Gerente at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

After reading your statement we feel miserable. The only compliment is about the toilette? Thats something but surely not enough.
Due so, we made up the analysis about the service in that day. Fortunely we are quite secure about the quality of our fado show and food, it has a good standard.

About the air conditioned, as a matter of fact we had some days a problem with the control of the the machine.

It will be so nice, maybe fair if could return some other time and maybe change your impressions?

Anyway, thank you for the visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2014

We had a great experience at the Michael. We did not eat and were quoted 17euros for entrance and 1drink each we chose a good wine and settled down to watch the fade. The musicians were brilliant the 2 female singers were good but one set by the lead guitarist was the highlight his voice was moving and sorrowful he moved my wife to tears. Later in the evening the manager gave us a complementary drink and we were only charged 22euros. All in all a great night.

Thank LondonShrewsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2014

Just had a lovely time at this restaurant . The service was good, the food good and the musicians excellent. It is mostly for tourist like myself, for a good price. Had a very nice
evening in the heart of nightlife in Lisbon,

Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2014

I had never experienced fado before but thoroughly enjoyed the lead (?) singer who also played guitar, wonderful singer, very comfortable on stage. The two other singers were more difficult to judge for because I do not speak Portuguese, but I found their performances less desire able and they had very short sets. The food was adequate, seats in the back cannot see the performances at all so avoid these if you can.

1  Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

Very unfriendly service, miserable food ( dry steaks, frozen fries and tasteless mushrooms) for 42€, very expensive drinks ( small beer 7€) they don't care- it's just for tourists/ - Noone would come a 2nd time!!!!

2  Thank Kathi_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews