We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the Ninho is a family-run place perched on its own cobbled terrace below the Castelo, with great views over the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Keep
Ranked #226 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the Ninho is a family-run place perched on its own cobbled terrace below the Castelo, with great views over the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

what can i say? e just met this place from "let's go", saying there that it could be part of unique and fun cultural experience at bargain prices.

i've confirmed it. It is a very beautiful and friendly place with a fantastic view. i've stayed there 3 years ago and i went there again. Probably it won't be the last time.
Staff is also very nice, such a nice hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank franhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    9
    12
    12
See reviews for
6
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk east midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

This pensao is in a great location with amazing views but is really hard to get to - especially with luggage. Once you've got up the mountain then you have a long spiral staircase to negotiate.
If you're backpacking & need somewhere cheap this could be for you but we found it rather smelly ( stale tobacco ), with threadbare bedding, an inadequate bathroom - no loo - & cold.
When my colleague mentioned the lack of heating she was met with rudeness but when we said we had to check out the woman in charge was very polite & gracious. I think she knew it was not for us.
If only they could rearrange the furniture in a sensible/stylish way, air the rooms, take away the naff pictures on the walls, get some new bedding & provide tea/coffee making stuff this could be an absolutely charming place.
I hear it featured in a film by Alain Tanner starring Bruno Granz.
Btw, the funky arts centre - Chapito - nearby is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vera_lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Staff are all nice and speak English. Rooms are clean and adequate, some are excellent. Great view. Safe and quiet. Make sure you understand what kind of bathroom you are getting.

It can be a challenging climb up to the hotel from the Rossi, but note that Tram 16 and Bus 37 can take you most of the way up. There is a little cafe and store nearby, and other places within walking distance. It would be crazy to try to have a car here. There is no internet.

Great base for exploring Lisbon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phototactician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

At first she tried to give us a room in the basement, dangerous place with windows that was not possible to open in case you need to escape if the stairs was burning in top of you.
We asked for another room and the woman got a little pissed. She gives us a room in the first floor and got really pissed when we asked for another glass for our toothbrush, in a double room it was not supposed to be more than one glass.
We left, not because we could not manage without two glasses, but the fact that she was so arrogant, and we did not really feel welcome, in Lisbon it is not difficult to find a place where you fell welcome.

  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Noruega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2004

We were booked in for a week here in July 2003. Stayed the 1st night in a clean, front-facing room with great view, which was good value. We had been advised that we would need to change rooms after 1 night to get an en-suite room, which was not a problem. However we did not expect to find our things thrown into our bags and moved for us, without warning, while we spent an hour searching for somewhere nearby to have breakfast.

We were moved down to a room in the basement with a tiny window, which I am sure had been converted from a shower block. It stank of bleach, was chokingly claustrophobic and came with a complimentary swarm of flies.

The staff were either comically cold & unfriendly or downright rude. We left, without spending a night in our replacement 'room'.

Helpful?
50 Thank AM1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#207 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#128 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#145 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#216 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Residencial Roxi
#176 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: Costa do Castelo 74, Lisbon 1100-179, Portugal (Formerly Pensão Residencial Ninho das Aguias)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keep 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep is a picturesque chalet located in Castelo, the neighborhood of the famous castle of S. Jorge. Staying at The Keep is like having your own private viewpoint - either from our tower, from our outdoor terrace or from our bedrooms, you can enjoy a wonderful panorama of Lisbon. Enjoy the 360º view of the city of Lisbon from our tower! The Keep also features a lounge area. Wi-Fi is freely available. The Keep is located in Costa do Castelo, a 5 minute walk from the Castle of S. Jorge. It is located in our most famous hill, from which you will be able to enjoy a full view of the city. We are just a few minutes within walking distance or by public transportation from the downtown area, as well as the historical neighborhoods of Castelo, Alfama and Graca. Some of Lisbon's most famous Fado houses are located in the surrounding area, as well as other touristic points of interest. The Keep has a 24-hour reception. Check-ins start at 2pm and check-outs are up to 11am. We have a 48-hour notice cancellation policy. Guests that cancel their reservations within 48h of their reservation date will be charged for the first night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Ninho Das Aguias Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Ninho Das Aguias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing