We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm Oasis in the heat”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #4 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Calm Oasis in the heat”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Just back from two nights in the Britania Hotel and both it and Lisbon more than lived up to our expectations. The room was spacious and comfortable and had character - something modern hotels are too often missing! The staff were consistently friendly and helpful and the service was personalised. We even received a courtesy tray of goodies including a bottle of sparkling wine, tealights and cakes in our room when we arrived back from dinner on our first night!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinJandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    330
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
226
1,581
83
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights with friends as part of a Thomas Cook package. Situation was very convenient, with metro & bus stops (inc open-top sightseeing tour buses) on Av de Liberdade within very short walk. Very helpful staff who gave useful advice and quickly sorted out minor problems.
It is an interesting & historical building, which has lost none of its character in being modernised. Our first night coincided with the Festival of St Anthony, with spectacular & colourful carnival parade on Av de Liberdade.
Buffet breakfast was very good, with wide variety of choice, inc fresh fruit. Hotel has no restaurant but there are several very good establishments close by.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We booked this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary and couldn't fault it.

The location, staff, room, breakfast and service were to a very high standard.

We have stayed in numerous hotels, but none can beat this one.

We felt truely looked after and relaxed.

Would definitely recommend.

It is also easy to get to as you just get the aerport bus.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Recently returned from a short break in Lisbon, with my sister and a friend. We stayed in Britania Hotel after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor and were certainly not disappointed. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others who want a peaceful and charming stay in Lisbon.

The warm, friendly and helpful service was second to none, whether it was from reception, the breakfast room or the bar staff. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean and though we never saw the housekeeping staff, our room was very well looked after throughout our stay.

The varied and quality buffet breakfast described in other reviews lived up to expectations, was constantly replenished during the service ensuring that everything was fresh and was available late into the morning. The tasteful soft furnishings in the bar and breakfast room were in keeping with the hotel art deco features and made a very welcoming place to relax and enjoy the complimentary glass of port and delicious local custard tarts on our return in the late afternoons or later in the evening for a quiet after dinner cocktail.

Bar prices were reasonable and whilst there is no restaurant, we found the bar snacks such as soup and toasted sandwiches a welcome change one evening when a light meal was needed after a long day sightseeing.

The day trip to Sintra recommended and booked through the Front desk was everything that was promised. With the maximum of 8 passengers it seemed more like a personal tour and the guide was on a par with the exceptional hotel service.

Overall, this small and quiet hotel is within easy walking distance of a number of the city districts, good restaurants and public transport. The experience made all the difference to our stay and we were only sorry we did not have longer to linger there. It felt like we were leaving friends behind when were were waved off in our taxi.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spearob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I have to admit. Before coming to Britania I was at Heritage on Av. Liberdad and was spoiled. So comparing it to that experience, I was left wondering what all the hype of this hotel was. The rooms are roomy and comfortable. Breakfast is on par. Location good. But all not as good when compared to Heritage -and Heritage is cheaper! Staff were accommodating in both locations. My only real complaint about Britania is that my room was not ready when I got there and it was past check-in time. They were tried accommodating the situation by offering a drink or another room (one bed, instead of two) but it was not applicable. Kind of let me wondering why a top notch hotel would blunder on something like that?? Hmmmm

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKYLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We always check with Tripadvisor before we book a hotel and try to book into the current top recommendations. This hotel was superb. A street behind Avenida da Liberdade, its location ideal. About a 5 min walk to the train station Rossio (that's if you don't stop to shop!!) Nothing was too much trouble for the staff we meet. And thank you Jefferson for the great cocktails. Rooms very spacious, all decorated in the period.
The city shuttle bus from the airport runs every 20mins and cost around 3.20 euro and drops you off on the Avenida - about a 2min walk to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suze057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived until leaving, everything was perfect. The location is ideal, just behind Avenida da Liberdade and a short walk from where the airport bus stops. The staff at the front desk were friendly and very helpful, always taking time to give advice on transport, where to go, what to see etc. The breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of hot and cold food, including lovely fresh bread and pastries, all of which was constantly restocked. The room was very spacious and was immaculately cleaned every day, a joy to return to at night. In fact, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.

A special touch on our last night was when we returned from our anniversary dinner to find a bottle of champagne, fresh strawberries, and candles in the room, compliments of the General Manager.

In summary, I would highly recommend this hotel and it's wonderful staff. As for Lisbon itself, it's a wonderful city with lots to see and do and am looking forward to going back at some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,727 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 251 in Lisbon
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing