We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisiting the era of charm”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #5 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised to find a hotel that is a redo of the early 1940s. It was a step back to a time of long gone by but with a complete update with technology and modern amenities. After looking at the pictures of its beginnings you can almost imagine the ladies in their dress attire coming down the staircase or elevator to attend the theatre around the corner. The staff is terrific in providing dining suggestions and transportation choices. Breakfast offerings are more than adequate and several guests requested special items/preps and the staff provided them. The afternoon tea and Port wine is a welcome end to a day out and about in the bar/library area. With it's location close to the bus service and about a 15 minute walk to one of the main plazas your access to sight seeing choices are unending. Beware evening dining on the weekends can be difficult without reservations and Sunday evening can be difficult with a limited number of restaurants open(we ended up at the Hard Rock Cafe on a Sunday night).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
There are newer reviews for Britania Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

The location is very good, 50m from the Avenida bus and metro. The style is completely Art deco and genuine. All the staff were excellent, welcoming and friendly.
The breakfasts were great, regularly replenished; the 5pm cakes and Port just what was needed after a day sightseeing and before dinner.
Rooms are spacious, beds really comfy, the bathroom very clean, perhaps a little dated but of course in keeping with the style.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpw262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It is an excellent hotel. Spacious rooms with details of retro and the larger bed i have ever seen. Very helpfull staff, they offered tea at afternoon and wine after 2100 in a very nice place with so many books.I had a very early flight and they had prepared for me breakfast at 5 in the morning. I thought that maybe Homfrey Bogart will show from the corner. The atmosphere was like the movie, Casablanca. A REAL BOUTIQUE HOTEL. I RECOMMEND IT TO ALL.

Room Tip: in the upper floors
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThessalonikiSehrazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I arrived here after a terrible night at a nearby hotel on business so it seemed like heaven when i sat on the bed and didn't jar my back!
This a a great all rounder. Great location, lovely staff who are more than willing to help with anything you need and the rooms are spacious. Breakfast isn't the best but not bad either.

Room Tip: We had a terrace room on the 6th floor which was lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A €3 ticket on the Aerobus from Lisbon Airport drops you off within a short 3 minute walk of this hotel. Quiet location parallel to the main drag into town. Staff were great . Very helpful . Nice cosy cocktail bar in which to enjoy an aperitif before stepping out for dinner. Breakfasts were good too. Room - sizeable and well appointed. Happy to go back to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BigBill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My friend and I had a 6 day girlfriends get away at the Britania. We both travel extensively and found this hotel to be terrific on many fronts. The room was large with an absolutely huge, marble bathroom and a separate dressing room. Closet and dresser storage space were ample. The breakfast, included in our package, was good with several options(including fantastic custard tarts which we enjoyed every day). The coffee on offer was not the best but the Nescafé machine available on the bar was a good solution. The service was warm and helpful at all times. The hotel is easy walking distance to the centre of town along a great avenue with top stores. The hotel is also close to the metro. All in all a great stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank borntotravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We arrived in Lisbon prior to check in time, but they accommodated us no problem which was greatly appreciated. The staff is amazing - knew us by name after coming in and out a few times, and offered tons of great suggestions, even making a handful of dinner reservations for us. The rooms are HUGE (for Europe standards) - we could not believe how much space we had! Super comfortable bed, Molton Brown toiletries, and a fabulous robe to use during your stay. We booked our room with breakfast included and it was awesome - both hot and cold options and the best coffee we had our entire trip to Europe. The hotel is situated one block off of the main street. At first it might seem a bit strange as it's tucked back on such a quiet street, but as we quickly discovered, you have to work hard to feel unsafe in Lisbon. The neighborhood this hotel is in is one of the nicest in the city, and the quiet street was welcome after a long day of sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again! Loved Britania Hotel - thank you to the staff for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
605 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 254 in Lisbon
2,776 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 254 in Lisbon
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $158 - $1,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing