We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say about others but this is a good place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Can't say about others but this is a good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The location is very good, 50m from the Avenida bus and metro. The style is completely Art deco and genuine. All the staff were excellent, welcoming and friendly.
The breakfasts were great, regularly replenished; the 5pm cakes and Port just what was needed after a day sightseeing and before dinner.
Rooms are spacious, beds really comfy, the bathroom very clean, perhaps a little dated but of course in keeping with the style.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpw262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    313
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
212
1,451
80
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

It is an excellent hotel. Spacious rooms with details of retro and the larger bed i have ever seen. Very helpfull staff, they offered tea at afternoon and wine after 2100 in a very nice place with so many books.I had a very early flight and they had prepared for me breakfast at 5 in the morning. I thought that maybe Homfrey Bogart will show from the corner. The atmosphere was like the movie, Casablanca. A REAL BOUTIQUE HOTEL. I RECOMMEND IT TO ALL.

Room Tip: in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThessalonikiSehrazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I arrived here after a terrible night at a nearby hotel on business so it seemed like heaven when i sat on the bed and didn't jar my back!
This a a great all rounder. Great location, lovely staff who are more than willing to help with anything you need and the rooms are spacious. Breakfast isn't the best but not bad either.

Room Tip: We had a terrace room on the 6th floor which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

A €3 ticket on the Aerobus from Lisbon Airport drops you off within a short 3 minute walk of this hotel. Quiet location parallel to the main drag into town. Staff were great . Very helpful . Nice cosy cocktail bar in which to enjoy an aperitif before stepping out for dinner. Breakfasts were good too. Room - sizeable and well appointed. Happy to go back to this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had a 6 day girlfriends get away at the Britania. We both travel extensively and found this hotel to be terrific on many fronts. The room was large with an absolutely huge, marble bathroom and a separate dressing room. Closet and dresser storage space were ample. The breakfast, included in our package, was good with several options(including fantastic custard tarts which we enjoyed every day). The coffee on offer was not the best but the Nescafé machine available on the bar was a good solution. The service was warm and helpful at all times. The hotel is easy walking distance to the centre of town along a great avenue with top stores. The hotel is also close to the metro. All in all a great stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We arrived in Lisbon prior to check in time, but they accommodated us no problem which was greatly appreciated. The staff is amazing - knew us by name after coming in and out a few times, and offered tons of great suggestions, even making a handful of dinner reservations for us. The rooms are HUGE (for Europe standards) - we could not believe how much space we had! Super comfortable bed, Molton Brown toiletries, and a fabulous robe to use during your stay. We booked our room with breakfast included and it was awesome - both hot and cold options and the best coffee we had our entire trip to Europe. The hotel is situated one block off of the main street. At first it might seem a bit strange as it's tucked back on such a quiet street, but as we quickly discovered, you have to work hard to feel unsafe in Lisbon. The neighborhood this hotel is in is one of the nicest in the city, and the quiet street was welcome after a long day of sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again! Loved Britania Hotel - thank you to the staff for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

What an amazing hotel. From the moment we checked in we knew it would be an amazing experience. After flying for 12 hours through the night, we were jet lagged to say the least. Portugal Trails arranged our trip and my wife and I were very happy to start with such a great place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing