We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$173
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$283
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel(Lisbon)
$186
$142
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,522)
Filter reviews
2,523 results
Traveler rating
2,108
365
38
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,108
365
38
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decocork floorspastriesquiet streetcomplimentary teauntil noonlouis vuittoncomplimentary portmolton brown toiletriesevery afternoonavenida metro stationterrace roommain avenueavenida da liberdaderooms are largeport wineside street
Filter
Updating list...
1,261 - 1,266 of 2,523 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent three days at the Britania in Mid-May 2013. It is in a good location, less than a block off the Avenida de Libertade, the main commercial street in Lisbon. The rooms were large and clean and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast is a full buffet and there is always a decanter of port available at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtjtkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here on our final night in Portugal. The hotel is a boutique hotel that is exceptionally charming and has a lot of character. The service is excellent and very personalized ... the front desk staff is amazing. We had stayed at the Four Seasons on the first leg of our trip and that was nice, as you would expect for the price. If I went back, I'd skip the Four Seasons and go directly to Britannia ... more customized/attentive service, free WiFi for multiple devices (unlike the Four Seasons, which is ridiculous for the price of rooms there), rooms have much more character, and the location is more central.

We had to leave for the airport very early in the AM (3:45AM) and the front desk made sure that there was coffee waiting for us when we came down.

We have high expectations when it comes to hotels and Britannia exceeded most of them. The only reason I rated this a 4 and not a 5 was because the beds could be more comfortable. This is where the Four Seasons beats them out. Otherwise, excellent stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DlNE-N-DASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Britania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay at the Britania.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning our beds we would like to say that we have the possibility to turn the mattress softer or firmer to meet your preference. If you don’t like the medium firmness of our mattress please just report that to our staff and we will be glad to try to meet your liking.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again and offer you a fully satisfactory stay.
Sincerely yours,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My experience at this Hotel was memorable .Yes the rooms are very spacious and nicely appointed .The sumptuous breakfast was great and the endless conversation we had in the tea room in the evenings over tea or a great Port which by the was was gratis . What really made this hotel experience special was the staff.From the amazing Corleto Davis who meet our even need to David who took my wife down the street shopping to act as a translator and Rebecca who was the most funny and pleasant .
If you are looking for a unique experience this is your hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rawleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My parter and I stayed for 5 nights at this excellent hotel in Lisbon, Portugal. The hotel is situated conveniently one block from the Ave Liberdade metro stop about 30 minutes from the Aeroport metro (convenient red line transfer to blue line). Upon arrival, we were allowed an early check in, which immediately put a smile on our face following all night of travel.

Throughout our stay, the staff (especially Raquel), went out of their way to provide us with the best customer service we have received in any hotel during our travels. We learned about the city, were provided suggested places based on our interests without even asking, and whenever we called about something in our room, they would immediately send someone up to assist.

The hotel is beautifully decorated (from the lobby to the wonderful room on the 5th floor) and it is obvious that they pride themselves on the history of the hotel and its wonderful customer service. They serve tea and cakes and wine every day in a beautifully appointed and comfortable lobby area.

I plan on recommending this hotel to everyone I know planning a trip to Lisbon. I felt like I was more in a 5 star hotel than 4 star.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was quiet and had a view of building across the street. Windows open for pleasant breeze and view of street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Upon our arrival at 8.00am after a sleepless transatlantic flight, my wife and I were greeted with those words that we always hope for: "your room is ready". And for our four-night stay at the Britania we were constantly delighted by outstanding service touches like that.

We had a lovely, spacious art-deco room on the fifth floor that overlooked an uninteresting, but quiet, street. The staff at reception, at the front door and at breakfast were unfailingly delightful to deal with and helpful with reservations and advice. In addition to a minibar, coffee & tea and an archaic but effective safe, the room included a welcoming carafe of port .

Breakfast was very good and included a selection of hot & cold dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews