We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise prevents good stay”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
seattle
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Noise prevents good stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good location, friendly staff, interesting room with decent amenities but the noise from other rooms really prevented a good nights sleep. This is a decent place and I stayed using airline points (9500). I had an early morning flight so tried to be asleep by 1000pm but the room above was noisy and seem to be transferred via the ventilation shaft, Finally got to sleep and then another adjoining room was noisy at 300am. About 3 hours of sleep. Temperature control was also an issue and couldn't keep it below 75 without the windows open.

I just don't get how this is the 2nd best hotel in Lisbon and I'd put it at a 3 star rating for a large city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Britania Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay with us.
I am most concerned that you didn’t have a good night sleep since it is one of our main aims with all our guests.
At your earliest convenience please feel free to contact me personally at any time to discuss your stay further with me.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,888
    325
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
217
1,533
81
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are a fan of 1940's hotels, this is a great choice foryour next Lisbon adventure. Just a block off the main drag, the Britania has been renovated with care taken to preserve its heritage. The staff are great and my room is huge. Although not quite a five star hotel, the ambiance will compensate for it. Cool place but perhaps not a good choice for the Four Seasons crowd.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Britania Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your recent stay with us and specially for your comments about our staff.
We are very pleased to know that you were satisfied with your stay. As you mention the Britania preserves its heritage with great care and offers a unique ambience of the 1940’s. Since the Britania has only 33 rooms it is possible to offer a very intimate atmosphere that you are not able to find in bigger hotels.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Britania Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A haven of quiet charm and hospitality in the midst of a modern city. Staff at every level is attentive without being intrusive. We were given wonderful dinner recommendations. It was a memorable 2 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LNM1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have recently returned from a week in Lisbon. We booked this hotel as it was different, with it being in the Art Deco style. After some initiat reservations when we found the hotel, due to the street it is situated in, we soon realised what a little gem we had found. It is situated in a street which runs parallel to the Avenue Libedad (think ive probably spelt that wrong!) and you are only a few minutes walk away from the centre of Lisbon.
The staff in the hotel are second to none- they will go out of their way to make your stay very pleasant. The lady who checked us in (sorry didnt get her name) was there a few times over the week and was absolutely lovely. We had full information given to us, from her when we arrived.
The room was very spacious and comfortable - the beds in particular being very comfy, i dont normally sleep so well in hotels. Yes i agree with other comments that the view from the hotel is terrible, but how long do you want to stay looking out of your window when you could be seeing the sites of Lisbon?
The only downside - which is not a reflection on the hotel, but on the other guests, is that some other guests are extremely sellfish regarding the amount of noise they make. Fortunately for us, this was only an issue on the last night that we were there, which was a friday. The people in the room above thumped around at all hours rather than walking gently across the floor and the people next door sounded like they were having a party.
The complimentary port and afternoon tea was a lovely touch and one which we did use. We also used the bar on two occasions and were suprised at how reasonable the prices were - much less than the local restaurant prices.
We were also there during valentines day and were pleasantly surprised when we returned in the evening to find some chocolates left on our bed - a very nice touch.
The breakfast at the hotel was very nice. Most days we were able to get a table straight away, on a few occasions we had to wait, which we didnt mind, but perhaps the hotel need some sort of proper system for this, as unbeknown to us, the first day of staying , we had jumped the queue of two other couples who were also waiting for a table. Maybe a queing system is needed?
i have read some of the other reviews which slate the hotel for lack of facilities, but it was very clear on the website what is on offer at this hote. It doesnt disappoint.
All in all it was a pleasant week in lisbon, should we return there in the future, we would definately be booking the Britania Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Britania. I can honestly say that I don't know of a reason why I would want to stay anywhere else. The art deco building is fabulous and the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. The breakfast provides an ample start to the days sightseeing and the afternoon tea is a welcome sight at the end. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from a three-night-stay at Hotel Britânia we must agree with what has been said about this fine hotel. Great location, wonderful art-deco interior, comfortable room, nice breakfast, friendly and courteous staff. Highly recommended!

Two minor quibbles (to put the praise into perspective):

We stayed on the fifth floor, and on the sixth floor they were painting the walls. The paint fumes were quite unpleasant a couple of times, but when we mentioned it they did their best to minimize the unpleasantness by opening the windows and were very apologetic about it. When we returned to our room on our last night there, we found some port wine and chocolate waiting for us with compliments from the management. Nice touch.

And speaking of port wine... On our last day we discovered that there was served port wine, tea and pastries every afternoon in the library/breakfast room. It was nice opportunity to enjoy the public areas and meet with the other guests, but unfortunately we were not informed about this. Still, these were minor flaws in an otherwise very nice experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Oem_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Blue Mountains, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Hotel Britania, as attested by other reviewers, is a gem in the heart of the city of Lisbon. The staff are first class, eager to help with any request and the service is impeccable. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed and the location, in a quiet street off the Avenue Liberdade, is in close proximity to the metro and busses and within walking distance of Lisbon's main centre. We loved the very ample breakfast that is served in the library and the opportunity to have tea and port from 5 p.m. onwards. The Art Deco architecture is most interesting, as is the history of the hotel. This hotel is a base of peace and tranquility to enjoy after the hustle and bustle of seeing all the sights that Lisbon has to offer. We would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The higher floors might be a bit quieter and if you get a room at either end of the corridor it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 246 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 246 in Lisbon
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 246 in Lisbon
798 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 246 in Lisbon
882 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing