We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here - it's tops”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #3 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a small , art deco gem ; recently refurbished to a very high standard. It is quiet but close to the Avenida Liberdade ,two minutes from the Avenida Metro station and a 15 minute stroll to Figuera Square.

The rooms are huge for a capital city centre hotel , the furnishing is excellent and includes air con.

Service is very , very good but still friendly . Try the Ginjinha in the library; that's a real treat.

The breakfast buffet is excellent and well worth €14 . There are lots of tourist restaurants on the back street running parallel with the Avenida . For others see our restaurant reviews .

Overall this is a perfect hotel in a really excellent location - Stay here .

Room Tip: All rooms are good as far as I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavenWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 2,410 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

I just returned from Lisbon and stayed at this hotel with a bunch of girl friends--it was great!
The location is close to Liberdade (one street over) so it was simple to get around. FREE WIFI WORKED WONDERFULLY AND YOU ONLY HAD TO LOG IN ONCE FOR YOUR ENTIRE STAY. It worked in my room as well.

The front desk staff was as helpful as any concierge and very efficient! Our rooms were spacious by European standards and very comfortable. Breakfast included eggs and many other options, it was delicious.

It was nice to come home to complimentary tea, port wine, ginja (cherry liqueur) & pastries every afternoon/evening after a busy day of sightseeing. We could plant ourselves on couches and relax with a drink & pastry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CyberAynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Britania Hotel for four nights in September 2012. I had read all the reviews on Trip Advisor and they were right it was a fantastic place to stay. We drove to the hotel and our GPS took us straight there. No problem getting there - I had arranged for a car park and it was lovely for the car to be driven away and parked - thanks.

The rooms are spacious, the bed was huge and so comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. We thought the restoration of the hotel into an Art Deco one was gorgeous. Colour scheme was restful and simply loved staying here.

A big thankyou to all the staff at Britania Hotel - nothing was too much trouble. You were all so helpful from sightseeing to where to eat. Thanks Jefferson for being so attentive to us - we loved coming back each night and sitting quietly having a drink together.

We loved our time with you - once again thankyou.
Breakfasts are so so good! Fresh fruit juice and everything you could wish for. We dined in the hotel lounge as well and the food was excellent.The afternoon teas were wonderful - especially being able to sample another special Pastille. Thanks. Also, the recommendation of the restaurant just up the road - Rubro was excellent - great meals either tappas or main - we dined there for the rest of our time in Lisbon. Close to Britania Hotel after busy days walking around Lisbon.

We walked everywhere or caught the bus - hop-on-hop-off great value. Felt safe walking everywhere.

Once again thankyou everyone at Britania Hotel - Lisbon is a great city to visit and staying with you made it even better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoddardhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This Hotel is difficult to fault and with nearly 700 excellent reviews on TA its a view shared by many.

I can't really add much to the many positive comments which all ring true; Wonderful rooms (the biggest bed I've ever seen), great staff who help with anything, very nice breakfast, impeccable service, complimentary afternoon tea and Port all wrapped up in beautifully restored Art Deco splendour. As owners of a boutique hotel ourselves we appreciate how much effort has gone in to creating this place and the owners must be very proud with what they have created.

If you're visiting this splendid city then I cannot think of a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Perfectly placed for the main city centre. Best tip is the 5 euro all day ticket for buses and trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thetravellingchef56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Well to finish off our short stay in Lisbon, we paid a visit to our hotel bar at the Brittania and it really made our night, what a fantastic bar man Jefferson really is... he entertained us with all his stories of Lisbon and made the beautiful cocktails with such heart and precision. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel... the beds were so comfortable and big, the breakfast amazing especially the freshly made orange juice and fruit. The hotel is so romantic, it really was a delight to stay and would recommend to any couple wanting a special time together.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel dserves its high TA ranking. Service was excellent - the front desk people were so helpful with restaurants directions, maps and recommendations.The rooms were huge and nicely decorated. Ours had a small room with a single day bed in addition to the main bedroom - this would have been perfect for a family of three.

There is a nice service of tea and pastries every afternoon, as well as decanters of port in the dining room. We were not told about his upon check in and only knew about it from previous TA reviews. We also received a decanter of port and some walnuts in our room the first night of our stay.

The hotel is located one block from Liberador Avenue which is a main thoroughfare in Lisbon with lots of luxury shops. The closest metro stop is Avenida on the blue line which is about a five minute walk away. If you want to be closer to the action, Britania has a sister hotel which is located right on Liberador Avenue. These are part of a group called Heritage Hotels of Lisbon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 23/25th November 2012. Everything was superb.
The room was large with king size bed, great shower and bath. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Complimentary tea pastries port and liqueur every evening was a nice touch.The lobby bar and breakfast area were very tastefully decorated. No wonder it ranks high on your website.
Lisbon has great contrasts, very high end shops yet a lot of poverty. Eat in the small local restaurants, great atmosphere and value. the metro is good and cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade in the quiet season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diarmuid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
624 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
887 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
977 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $128 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing