We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming but not reliable indications of what rooms look like”
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
York House
Ranked #158 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in Paris
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“charming but not reliable indications of what rooms look like”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

the pros- this is an olde worlde hotel with a magnificent courtyard with a very comfortable sofa (I had my siesta there whilst waiting in the afternoon before leaving), the location is good you can find something open to eat not far from the hotel in the small hours of the night and almost next door is a wonderful brazilian restaurant (a little pricey by lisbon standards but wonderful food and good service), the staff in the hotel were correct and i heard them being very helpful to clients. They also helped us to surprise our friends who were getting married by letting us into their rooms to decorate it.

the rooms are all very different, my room had space but wasnt well used space, the twin beds were almost a double bed and the room could have been better distributed

the cons - considering the price of the hotel i found the room service and mini bar slighty exaggerated for lisbon prices, there was also mould around the window frames in the room andbatgroom which gave a dirty /dated look to the room
the stairs are a lot to get access but a porter carries your baggage up and down and they are not partcularly steep, just a lot.

I had a room on the entrance floor but others also had problems with inside stairs as they could be a bit slippery. the 2 roomed suite with its own terrasse had an amazing view and I would recommend this is you have no problem with stairs. The air conditioning was not very efficient so be wary of this if you stay in the very hot summer months, especially as it could be a little noisy with the window open.

Next door to the hotel is a really interesting 2nd hand and handmade craft shop worth looking in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchconnection01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    94
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
23
133
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is set up in a great location. The historic building and the beautiful courtyard are really fabulous. Unfortunately, however, the service is poor and the staff is often grumpy or outright unfriendly. An exception seems to be housekeeping: the rooms were always impeccable in terms of cleanliness. Given the prices the service quality (if services are available at all) are clearly below standards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ms11Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel was alright. Friendly staff at reception, comfortable bed and a very pretty outdoor seating area, where breakfast is served each morning.
It is conveniently located between the city centre and the south western area of Belem, where there is a delightful array of museums, art galleries (not to mention the world famous custard tart bakeries). However, it would have been easier to be nearer to more cafes and bars (absolutely everything we wanted to do was a bus ride away). The breakfast was also over priced for what it was. On one day, there were ants crawling around the cheese.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmonkeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in this old style monastery, the top benefit was after climbing the steps you quickly escape the city centre noise and could be out in the country. The style is nice and rooms in pretty good shape for an old place, I would go back. Definitely a place to go to relax and escape the centre!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nice place to be when you are spending time in lisbon. Old buildind like a secret place in the center of lisbon. Ask a room far from the entrance to avoid constent noise made by people with their keys. Some of the room have been reniewed, ask for it. Enjoy your breakfeast in the center of the hotel. Be carefull, lot of stairs not made for people having difficulties to walk or use stairs

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MANAMA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We are friends in our early 30s and stayed at the York House for 3 nights. Overall the stay was a 3.5 out of 5. There was nothing particularly horrible about the place, but in retrospect we probably would have stayed in the Barrio Alto. Here are some pros and cons.

PROS
1. Nice bedding and shower amenities.
2. Beautiful garden with alfresco eating area.
3. This is a period hotel with lots of character, so if you like that type of thing, this is perfect.
4. In a quiet area without a lot of foot traffic.

CONS
1. Location: a bit of a walk from downtown Lisbon. Prepare to walk at least 20 minutes to reach downtown Lisbon. There are bus stops close by, but
2. Front desk is not very helpful and seemed put out by our questions concerning transportation.
3. Not located close to a metro. Do not be deceived by the what the website says. This hotel is located close to the suburban train that goes to Cacais (the Santos station). This is not the metro. You need to walk about 15 minutes to reach the nearest metro station.
4. When we checked out, the front desk called a taxi for us. However, they could not find our bill, and the taxi arrived before the bill could be finalized, causing the meter to run. I think they should be a bit better organized.
5. On one day, the housekeeping service came to our room very early and knocked. We said we were still in the room. She came back 30 minutes later and tried to come in. Now, I'll grant her that we didn't have a 'do not disturb' sign up because we couldn't find one! However, given that you have to hand your key off to the front desk when you leave the hotel, you'd think there could be a system in place to check if we'd yet left! Also, on another day she just came in without knocking!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandyalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is located in an old convent, transformed into a hotel in 1890 by two ladies from Yorkshire, hence the name. Preserving the charm of these century old surroundings, particularly the lovely courtyard with its walls overgrown by vines, the hotel rooms are equipped with everything you would expect from a modern design hotel. The hotel is relatively small and hence maintains a family-type atmosphere. The in-house restaurant is pretty good, specializing in Portuguese cuisine. Moreover, a number of decent local restaurants are in walking distance. To get to the main attractions of Lisbon, you will need public transport or a taxi, but the latter are quite cheap in Lisbon compared to most other capitals. The only down-side of the hotel is that you have to climb some 50 steps to reach the entrance level, thus not recommended for those needing a wheelchair or otherwise unable to master stairs.

Room Tip: Each room apparently is designed differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 248 in Lisbon
1,460 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
898 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Liberdade
#15 of 248 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Palacio Ramalhete
#39 of 248 in Lisbon
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 32, Lisbon 1200-691, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#109 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 17th century Convent converted to a homey Pension encompassing a patio & gardens overlooking river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Lisbon
York Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing