We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay saved from disaster by Anna, aka Superwoman.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A short stay saved from disaster by Anna, aka Superwoman.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My trip was messed up by US Airways so that I had half the time in Lisbon I had planned. Anna got me into a room on arrival so that I could shower and start immediately. When I had to leave for the airport before breakfast would begin service, Anna arranged for a tray to be sent to my room. It was great coffee!

Room Tip: The back of the hotel looks over the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    156
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
534
24
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2014 for two nights. The hotel is full of character and beautifully maintained. Eating breakfast on the garden with the sun shining was a joy. Although a good 25 - 30 minutes stroll to Lisbon Centre we found it an ideal base, taxis, buses and train line all accessible.

It was my birthday whilst staying here, what a lovely surprise to find a complimentary chilled bottle of Portuguese fizz on our return to our room
that day.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and congratulate them on the high standards.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Curly113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel. Great self serve facilities for bar and complementary hot drinks through out our stay. Air conditioned room were also very well received during the summer months. It's about 25 minutes into the centre of the city, with some hills, although there are some very nice restaurants nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_G20130803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our three day stay here was a great introduction to the charming and gracious hospitality the we enjoyed throughout our three week visit to Portugal. Unlike many small hotels the service was terrific - 24 front desk, helpful concierge services such as reservation and directions, varied public spaces. Our room was certainly decent and well appointed, but the public spaces were uncommonly lovely.

The breakfasts in the vine covered courtyard we among the best we had, and the third floor library space afforded not only roof-top view of the river but a serve yourself bar with Port and anything else you would want.

As others note the location is only a bit out of the center and the bus from the stop fifty feet from the front door gets you to the center in minutes. However, two blocks away on and near the Rua da Esperanca are a number of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLRCohasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia, Europe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

He hotel is very nice and comfortable. The star is very attentive. The location could of be better. Not in the center but near everything that you need. Best restaurants at a 10 minutes walk.from now on we have our place in Lisbon and we are happy to recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

As Janelas Verdes, part of Hotels Heritage Lisboa is a romantic,charming hotel, which was an old mansion in an older part of Lisboa. One feels like living in the past as it were.
The front desk, the service is most welcoming and impeccable. The breakfast is lovely. The decor is very appropriate and the room was very nice. From the top floor lounge/terrace, one can enjoy great views of the river and the bridge, while relaxing with drinks.
And very conveniently, it is right next to The Museu de Arte Antigua. This museum houses some of the most beautifully paintings in the world, notably Bosch, Durer, Piero della Francesca, Ribera to name a few.
We walked to Bairro Alto from the hotel, sightseeing the old buildings of Lisboa and we found lovely little restaurants, charming streets and squares.
We were very happy to stay in this lovely hotel and will be glad book again.

Room Tip: Room facing south if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, friendly, familiar, homely but very professional. The little garden, the library and balcony made it a refuge to return to after a hectic day sightseeing. Close to several buses and teams, but also easy to walk into town. A very good world class museum next door which is free to residence of the hotel. Loved Lisbon, loved this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Property: As Janelas Verdes
Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing