We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 9, 2008

This comfortable, well appointed hotel offers a quiet reprieve from the busy streets of Lisboa. Admittedly, it is about a :20 minute walk to the Baixa of Lisbon. However, a tram line, only a five minute walk from the hotel connects you swiftly with the rest of the city (the 15E takes you to Belem (:15)as well as the Baixa(:5min), where you can walk or easily access other transportation to the Barrio Alto etc., Tram 28, local sight seeing tours).

We had two short stays, at either ends of our 10 day Portuguese holiday, and found the rooms to be pleasantly decorated, well maintained, comfortable and quiet. A view of the harbour from the third floor is delightful. The Juliet balcony from the second floor overlooks the court yard and has a burbelling fountain to disguise the city noise if you prefer your windows to be open. During both visits our rooms had a large bathroom with a much used deep soaker tub.

The library on the third floor is a cozy room with a large balcony where guests can relax and enjoy a view of the harbour. A small, well stocked honour bar has plenty of options to quench your thirst. A happy surprise was the tray of Pasteis de Belem, the highly regarded local custard pastry!

The front staff at the hotel are very helpful. Although sadly, I left behind an item of clothing which was not returned to me despite having contacted the hotel the very next day after departure.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CE1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for As Janelas Verdes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 933 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2008

Lovely hotel and would stay again. Good location and near to major museum. Quick access to airport by taxi - only about 20 mins. max. Friendly staff and well decorated reception areas; lovely courtyard for breakfast and also a roof terrace with spendid views over river Tagus. Honesty bar and great comfortable decor in library bar. Excellent breakfast on ground floor with splendid selection - even sparkling wine for Buck's Fizz. Reception produced complimentary bottle of sparkling for anniversary in room without any prompting or request. Only downside was the hard matress on bed if it matters to you. Room safe in wardrobe and no charge. All in all a good experience and will stay there again for pleasure and business next time in Lisbon. Good transport links - bus stop almost outside and easy walking to sites and centre.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GloucesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We spent a week in Janelas Verdes. The staff were courteous and friendly, the hotel spotless, the location perfect, the breakfasts generous and delicious, and the library and terrace garden a wonderful surprise. However, the aircon was half hearted and unpredictable, and the noise from the street was unbelievable. Most mornings it started up at around 5.30 - traffic noise driving over the cobbles and bouncing off the buildings, but on Saturday night it went on and on. And on. From around 2am when local night clubs started throwing out. Yelling, partying, endless disturbance ... until we could bear it no longer and got up early for breakfast. If you value your sleep, take earplugs.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank globaltrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

After some research into where to stay in Lisbon we chose the Janelas Verdes. We wanted somewhere comfortable, not too big and near good transport links - this hotel fitted our needs perfectly. As an added bonus the staff were excellent, the garden breakfasts really relaxing (inc. in our rate) and the library balcony a great surprise. There is a bus stop just up the road, a train station and tram stop 5mins away and taxis seem to be €5 to get to most central places. I did find the pillows uncomfortable on the first night as someone else has mentioned, but (and not sure if this is new or not) they do have a pillow menu so you can chose something to your liking. We had room 23 which had 2 small balaconies overlooking the patio garden and did not experience any noise issues. The free wi-fi, free use of pc/ printer and honesty bar and nice staff are touches that made us glad (once again) they we stayed clear of the big chains.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 000Bubbles000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Staff were terrific and helpful. The library a comfortable and inviting place to relax but the bed was awful...so uncomfortable we found it difficult to sleep. Also the air conditioning blew but rarely did any cool air emerge. We were surprised to learn that we were charged for breakfast when we checked out...14 euros each. We stayed 2 nights. Also felt a bit claustrophobic. A bit too far from the centre as well.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

Our group of 4 adults recently stayed at As Janelas Verdes for 3 nights; it was JUST right! The public rooms (living room, breakfast room, and the fabulous library with a terrace and wonderful views of the Tejo river with Cristo Rei and the 25 de Abril bridge) feel very cozy and inviting with comfortable furniture and judiciously rich decor. We agree with a previous posting about the silk flowers & plants, but we also like the fact that our very reasonable rates clearly did not include the costs of extravagant exhibits in hotel lobbies, where we typically derive little direct benefits. (And though fake, the flower arrangements were actually not in poor taste!) The breakfast buffet was abundant, with pastry, juices, hot tea & coffee and hot milk, fresh fruit salad, cereal, eggs, bacon, cheeses (including fromage fraiche -- yum, yum), yogurt, etc. ... There is no restaurant on site, so one would have to go out for lunch and dinner, but there are enough small and good coffee shops and restaurants nearby, and when inquired, the staff cheerfully offered to deliver fresh fruits and home-made sandwiches to our rooms.

Our own double superior rooms were quiet and sufficiently roomy, with comfortably firm beds. The nights were turning cooler when we were there, and both rooms had very comfortable temperature controls. The bathrooms were also sufficiently roomy with marbled floors, tiled baths, and Molton Brown bath products. A small but cute touch was the complimentary port in each room. There was no minibar in the rooms, but the library has a very reasonably priced stock of beverages, and this certainly encouraged our daily sojourns to the library to enjoy the magnificent views too! Nightly turndown service was discreet.

Service was consistenly and uniformly excellent, as all previous reviewers have stated. While we were there, we saw the staff going way out to help another guest with locating the guest's luggages, which had been lost by the airlines and had nothing to do with the hotel. The staff even offered to call the hotel on the guest's next destination to make arrangement for delayed arrival and/or delivery --just in case! We knew that As Janelas Verdes is a relatively small hotel and were not looking for any huge lobby with rows and rows of registration staff, but even then, check-in and check-out were both efficient and attentive.

The hotel is in the Santos district, right next to the Luxembourg embassy and down the street from the French embassy. We knew that the hotel would not be quite centrally located for sightseeing, but after spending the day sightseeing, it was actually quite nice to come back to a relatively less bustling area. We used taxis a lot to go places, and in general, it costs the 4 of us about 6-8 Euros to go from the hotel to various places in town including going to the Gulbenkian one night for a concert. We ourselves did not encounter any problems with street noise, with one of our rooms facing the garden in the back and the other facing out with a view of the Tejo.

In all, we felt that As Janelas Verdes had just the right combination of comfortable space and excellent service for us to feel very much welcomed and to enjoy a very relaxing and pleasant visit to Lisbon. We definitely would stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

This former private home in the Santos/Lapa area of the city is situated right next door to one of the main public art galleries of Lisbon, and about 10 minutes brisk walk from the areas of most touristic interest such as the Bairro Alto. It's not near a Metro stop but a ride on the No.15 tram plus a climb up steep steps opposite the port quays gets you there pantingly!

The hotel's richly furnished with nice decorations, antiques and other knick-knacks, plus lots of deep arm-chairs and a lovely guests' library on the top floor where there is also a super terrace to enjoy the view of the harbour together with drinks from the honesty bar or a cup of tea or cofee made by yourself in the special tiny kitchen attached.

We stayed there as part of our honeymoon trip and found the place very comfortable but rather quiet. It was full of guests who had obviously payed a lot of money (although one can get surprisingly good deals by checking out a few of the different hotel web-sites) for the intimate atmosphere, spoke in hushed tones and behaved as if they thought you might offend their space by 'spotting' them when they hoped to be hiding! Service was very good, unquestioning, and the house staff all wore 'pinnies' like something out of Altman's 'Gosford Park.

I thought the bedrooms were the most disappointing part of the hotel...rather dowdy at all levels. We know because whilst we had paid for a 'superior room', the one we were allocated on arrival clearly wasn't. And when we made representations we were told "oh well, you were the last to arrive". So the room the next night had a better view but was similarly a bit down at heel.

Beware front rooms in this hotel. There's a club opposite which you may not even see when you arrive because the way things work in Lisbon is that suddenly around midnight, shutters come off the most innocuous looking frontages to reveal places that then liven up and go on until 5am. They certainly know how to party in Lisbon and everyone spills out onto the street together with the thumping music (go to the Bairro Alto to experience this at its most extraordinary!).

The best thing about this hotel is that you certainly wont get any riff-raff, the staff are gracious in the extreme, there's lots of tiny personal comforts like the Financial Times of the day, and unlimited free delicious port wine in the room, there's a wonderful court-yard for breakfast and no restaurant so no feeling of obligation to eat in and so miss the fabulous cooking in the local restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pete-fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 253 in Lisbon
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 253 in Lisbon
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $151 - $1,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing