We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in a good area”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at As Janelas Verdes for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Lisbon. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The hotel itself was a short tram ride into the centre, but the area it was located in had some great local restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilaryzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 977 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Lovely little hotel, something a bit different from all the big commercial 'same old same old'. Comfy room. Friendly and warm staff. Complimentary port, Nespresso coffee machine & tea... a great idea. Lovely to read in the library. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magdalena_Charl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very good situated location. A great starting point to discover Lissabon.
The hotel is very nice and the service very helpful.
Breakfast very complete and the room great to relax after a whole day walking trip, bath included.
The common bibliotheque is a must see during your stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kamp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel. We said to ourselves that if we are ever going to come back to Lisbon, we'll stay at As Janelas Verdes. We had a room with a balcony and a view out to the river (room #10). It was spacious with a really warm and cosy atmosphere. The people at the reception talked really good English and were extremely helpful and welcoming. We once took the bus downtown (it was packed with people), not a long ride, and walked another time (just missed the bus). The walk was nice but took longer than we thought (perhaps about ½ hour or so). The breakfast was really tasty and the breakfast room was like the dining room at your friends' house.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The As Janelas Verdes is a beautiful heritage hotel on the west side of downtown Lisbon. Close to the national museum and on the same road as buses to and from Belem. Plenty of eateries nearby. Rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and clean and the many communal areas such as the 3rd floor library and the thoughtful honour bars throughout are a lovely touch.

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor puts you close to a lovely llibrary and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Old world charm and gracious hospitality made us fans. The hotel gave us an upgrade to a suite overlooking the river. The suite had a large, comfortable bedroom, a small room with tea service and storage, and a marble bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The coffee and breakfast foods were copious and delicious. Note: This hotel is not close to most tourist attractions, but we got to sample local life by walking to really good restaurants, recommended by the hotel. The location works best for those with private transportation, though it is on a bus line. In advance of our stay, the hotel responded quickly to my request for recommendations for private tour services. We used two of the three and they were very good indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIBev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we stayed here from Jan 2-4 at the end of a weeks break in Portugal. this is a gem of a small hotel with great ambiance and outstanding staff, from the reception team the cleaning team to the night porter who helped us as we left at silly o'clock on Saturday morning. loved the stay, easy to find and close to busses, trams and taxis

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
2,410 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,848 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,603 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $119 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing