We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel !”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #8 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for four days last November. Hotel was very clean with access to large living room and the view at night time. Bathroom was very big and bedroom had a lovely view onto a quiet street which was quiet at night. Bus is a one minute walk from the hotel and take you to the town centre etc. We did the bus tour around the city which was good. Shopping in Lisbon is excellent also, next time we will spend more time here as four days wasn't really enough time to explore everything. All hotel staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke english. Would advise people visiting Lisbon to try to visit the following: Castelo de San Gorge, Bairro Alto (for the shopping), Praca do Comercio (nice for an evening meal), also make sure to take a day to travel to Sintra which was the highlight of our trip. Amazing views and winding streets up to the castle. Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipmunk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 983 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Lisbon to celebrate my birthday. This is a perfect hotel. Beautiful old building, filled with an eclectic mix of antique furnishings and decor. Rooms were well proportioned with plenty of storage, bathroom was large and well equipped, including bathrobes and slippers. Staff were most helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, including champagne!! The library and roof top terrace provide the perfect spot for a relaxing drink or two, there is an 'honesty bar' and free tea and coffee always available. The complimentary carafe of port awaiting us in our room each day was the icing on the cake!! I was presented with a complimentary bottle of champagne on my birthday which made our celebrations very special. There is a very pretty courtyard garden where we enjoyed breakfast each morning surrounded by flowering shrubs and bird song. Ideal location for bus routes, and plenty of essential local information available at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel most strongly.

Room Tip: We overlooked the courtyard garden on the first floor, perfect, no noise, even with the windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the hotel, which was excellent. Services were efficient and effective, rooms clean and comfortable, and in every possible way they did a little extra to make the stay enjoyable. A communal "library" with balcony looking over the waterfront offered a comfortable location for relaxation with a view. There is no restaurant, room service will provide a sandwich, but there is a wide variety of restaurants available within a short walk. While it is located a little way from the city centre there is a regular bus service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Celebrated a cousin's Birthday in Lisbon and stayed at As Janelas Verdes. The Hotel is great, and the decor is fabulous.
The front desk book in was very efficient and we were provided with lots of information about what Lisbon had to offer.
We asked to change our original room and The Manageress ensured my wife and I had a perfect choice. Nothing wrong with any rooms just that first one had twin beds and we prefer a double. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, and was a bath or shower combination, plus all products provide we're Molton Brown. Bath robes and slippers provided, and full range of good sized towels available.

Rooms visited were all decorated to a high standard ( we were with others so saw 4 in total) and the free use of a safe in them is very useful. Free wi-fi available which worked in our room plus a free to use computer in the lounge area provides guests with access to any online information.

The breakfast was good value. A selection of fresh fruit, breads, pastries, plus fried bacon, sausages and scrambled egg and many other items were very well laid out. Fresh Fruit juices were great and we were lucky enough to have the weather to use the garden terrace in which to eat our breakfasts.

The staff were all so helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. A Champagne breakfast was set up in the garden terrace which helped with Birthday celebrations and was provided by the manageress, who was fantastic.

The roof terrace is delightful and has an Honesty bar for alcoholic drinks, and free tea and coffee in the kitchen area is available al the time. Worked very well for us.
The Free Carafe of Port in our rooms each day was a bonus, and we all loved sipping this on the roof terrace as a night cap after our evenings out.

Bus stops nearby get you into the main towns and if you get travel cards from a local shop it saves money on multiple journeys.

We all enjoyed our stay here and thought it was great value.

Room Tip: Some people may find front roadside rooms noisier than the back ones, as the roads are cobbled so cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29RonandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Myself and a friend had to rush to Lisbon at the last minute, and found this hotel via TA with a great deal through hotels.com. Sometimes, when you're rushed, you make choices you later regret, but I can say without doubt that this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

Staff:
From the get-go, the staff were excellent. We didn't check in until 23.30, which wasn't a problem. We were given a lot of helpful advice about the local area and how to get about, plus a voucher for free entry to the nearby art museum.
A one-day assignment turned in to a week-long one, and we asked to extend at the last minute (the morning we were supposed to check out). The hotel couldn't match the online rate we had got, but still gave us a very hefty discount on the rest of our stay (well over 50%) and threw in breakfast. Nothing is too much for these lovely folks!

Hotel:
The hotel itself is impeccably kept. Neat, clean and very pretty with real character. The rooms are a very good size, with all modern conveniences including wi-fi, aircon and TV. The breakfast is very good and the "honour" bar in the library is exactly as interesting as it sounds, with an original brass telescope you can use to take advantage of the view over the bay. Just make a note of what you eat and drink and it's charged to your room.

Location:
If you want to be in the middle of town, this hotel is not for you. It's located in the Santos area, which in many ways is better - the area is quiet, but only 5 minutes on the bus from the centre. There are plenty of places to go out just a couple of minutes walk away. The quality of the bars and restaurants is higher here than in the centre because they aren't racing to the bottom to cater for tourists, and equally there is a sizeable student population so if you're looking for a bar-to-club night you can do that too. There's something for everyone

Nearby:
If you stay, I'd recommend the Green Bar at the Santos junction about 1 minutes walk away for a fun night. Lots of shots, a fun and friendly atmosphere and a different crowd every night. If you'd prefer something a little more refined I can recommend Matiz Pombalina which has a very cool vibe and a more restrained crowd.
To eat, I can recommend '31 Armada' which is a short walk out of town (on the same street) for really good value, genuine 'traditional portuguese' food. Many places offer this, but 31 Armada truly deliver (I had a risotto of chicken on the bone, cooked with its own blood - a local speciality). For a real treat, don't miss 'A Travessa'. It's a little expensive, but a really top-notch dining experience.
If you make it to the centre, I can recommend 'No Solo Italiano' in the Praca do Comercio, next to the Beer Museum(!). Unfussy Italian food, good prices considering where you are, and free wifi which is always useful.

Getting Around:
We used the '7 Colinas' card, which is a contactless smartcard which works on the trams, busses and tubes operated by 'Carris' group. Costs 50c for the card and then 6 Euro per day or you can pe-buy individual journeys to get them cheaper than buying on the bus/tram. Given the bus is about 1.80, it's easy to justify a 6 Euro ticket if you're doing any kind of touristy stuff. Public transport in the main is very good, and goes everywhere you would want to go. One caveat - occassionally buses simply didn't turn up, which is a little frustrating as some only run every 30 minutes. I believe there are night buses too but we didn't use them. Nor did we use taxis other than from the hotel to the airport which was pre-booked (and cost 20 Euros)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was lovely. We had a nice room with a huge decorative bathroom. Again the complimentary Port was a nice touch.

Although the hotel isn't smack bang in the centre its not far out and the public transport is really good! We just took the 714 and 727 buses to the centre and Belem or the 25 tram into the centre. We are used to London as well so thought the local area had character rather than being down trodden!

The receptionists were all really helpful for recommendations and advice. We really enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace overlooking the river- the only thing I would say is randomly they took the cushions from the outside chairs away after our first night so it was quite uncomfy to sit outside which is a shame! The honesty bar was well stocked and the complimentary custard tarts were lovely.

I really loved eating breakfast outside in the garden. There was a food selection and having champagne with my fruit salad in the garden was a real treat. I think we must have timed breakfast wrong though as we kept missing the scrambled egg and sausage- serve us right for not getting up earlier!

Overall we loved staying here! Great service, lovely atmosphere- a real treat!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your comments which helps to improve our service.

We were very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and specially our staff.

We are very sorry for the erratic cushions in the top floor Library Terrace. Concerning the breakfast, we serve our buffet until 12:00 and closer to that time and depending on the number of guests remaining, we serve cooked food at request to guarantee its quality. I’m very sorry if this was not dully informed.

Thank you once more and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We loved this charming little hotel. Although not located bang in the centre it isn't too far away, and its attractions more than make up for this particularly as a bus stops right outside the door. The staff are all friendly, polite and efficient. The buffet breakfast is served in a delightful room - everything is splendid with wonderful fresh fruit salad, deliciously naughty pastries, a good selection of bread, cheese and cold meats as well as cooked food. Nothing ever runs out as there is someone overseeing and refilling as required. Very good choice of fruit juices, teas, filter coffee and self-service Nespresso machine. All the public rooms are very pretty - furnished and decorated in style with lovely original fireplaces and much character. The library on the third floor is a haven of peace with a large sunny balcony and great view of the harbour. Just adjacent is a small kitchen where one can make oneself tea or coffee at any time - also a bar run on an honesty basis. The bedrooms are a good size and comfortable. At the back is a very pretty garden where one can have breakfast on warm days or just sit and have a coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend this charming and elegant hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor so had convenient access to the library - for a quiet night with windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
2,428 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $142 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing