We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel, a real treat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, a real treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was lovely. We had a nice room with a huge decorative bathroom. Again the complimentary Port was a nice touch.

Although the hotel isn't smack bang in the centre its not far out and the public transport is really good! We just took the 714 and 727 buses to the centre and Belem or the 25 tram into the centre. We are used to London as well so thought the local area had character rather than being down trodden!

The receptionists were all really helpful for recommendations and advice. We really enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace overlooking the river- the only thing I would say is randomly they took the cushions from the outside chairs away after our first night so it was quite uncomfy to sit outside which is a shame! The honesty bar was well stocked and the complimentary custard tarts were lovely.

I really loved eating breakfast outside in the garden. There was a food selection and having champagne with my fruit salad in the garden was a real treat. I think we must have timed breakfast wrong though as we kept missing the scrambled egg and sausage- serve us right for not getting up earlier!

Overall we loved staying here! Great service, lovely atmosphere- a real treat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your comments which helps to improve our service.

We were very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and specially our staff.

We are very sorry for the erratic cushions in the top floor Library Terrace. Concerning the breakfast, we serve our buffet until 12:00 and closer to that time and depending on the number of guests remaining, we serve cooked food at request to guarantee its quality. I’m very sorry if this was not dully informed.

Thank you once more and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    145
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
85
489
20
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We loved this charming little hotel. Although not located bang in the centre it isn't too far away, and its attractions more than make up for this particularly as a bus stops right outside the door. The staff are all friendly, polite and efficient. The buffet breakfast is served in a delightful room - everything is splendid with wonderful fresh fruit salad, deliciously naughty pastries, a good selection of bread, cheese and cold meats as well as cooked food. Nothing ever runs out as there is someone overseeing and refilling as required. Very good choice of fruit juices, teas, filter coffee and self-service Nespresso machine. All the public rooms are very pretty - furnished and decorated in style with lovely original fireplaces and much character. The library on the third floor is a haven of peace with a large sunny balcony and great view of the harbour. Just adjacent is a small kitchen where one can make oneself tea or coffee at any time - also a bar run on an honesty basis. The bedrooms are a good size and comfortable. At the back is a very pretty garden where one can have breakfast on warm days or just sit and have a coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend this charming and elegant hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor so had convenient access to the library - for a quiet night with windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

It is true that the Hotel is not at the heart of downtown Lisbon, but it is definitely worth the trip. It rests in a quiet neighborhood and the place is quite charming. The breakfast is very good and the library is worth spending some time reading in it. We really liked it and we hope you enjoy it too. It may be a bit pricey but probably quite in line with other alternatives at the same level in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a cozy quiet place with a very friendly staff. Our room wasn't huge...but the bathroom was very roomy. We had a small balcony that we really enjoyed. Our room faced the river, across the river is a huge statue of Jesus Christ, which was absolutely beautiful! A bottle of complimentary Port wine was in our room. We spent 5 days here. We never ate at the hotel...but breakfast was served each morning for a fee. The staff treated us very nice while we were there & we tipped them all well when we were checking out. The library was very nice & had a balcony that was nice also. Our only issue with the library was the smell. We never figured out what the nasty smell was. There is a small kitchen with the library where you can purchase coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. Maybe the bad smell was coming from the kitchen. Not sure.
The problem that we had with this hotel was that my husband forgot his cell phone in our room. After we left he contacted the hotel about it to see if they found it. They checked & then emailed us to tell us they found it & would mail it to us. We never received the phone. We emailed them again asking for a tracking number or just any info about the phone. We were completely ignored. To this day they will not respond. We told them we would pay for the shipping & they agreed to mail it to us. We aren't sure why no one from the hotel will respond.
Having said that, we did enjoy our stay. But we were NOT pleased at all with being ignored after doing business here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank z28blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words about our premises and our friendly staff.
We believe that the nasty smell in the library was coming from a repair work in our neighbors roof.

Concerning the cell phone, we are terribly sorry for the misunderstanding and for the delay on the dispatch.

On the day of your check out, March 13th, we emailed you informing that you left your cell phone in the room and asking your full address in order to send it to you.

We received your email with your address on March 17th saying that no hurry was required since you would not be home before March 28th so the mail should be at the most reasonable price.

We are very sorry for the delay of the delivery and not answering your most recent email that due to a misunderstanding it was not follow up as it should be. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We will contact you directly to inform you the tracking number.

Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful building, rooms, furnishings. Great service and staff that were helpful with restaurants, transportation, and tourist advice. Very nice breakfast. Immediate outdoor surrondings appeared downtrodden and with lots of graffiti. Rooms were hot and opening the windows brought a lot of street noise with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meaghen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have nothing but superlative things to say about this charming hotel. It gives you the experience of "gracious living", with its library where you can have coffee, tea, etc, anytime you want. The service is impeccable. Some people may not like the fact that it not right downtown, so if you like to be in the thick of it, day and night, it is not for you. But there is very good transportation, and it is not as noisy. To us, it was a plus. We would recommend it without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our expectations were superseded. The service level in this hotel is extremely high.
There is only one negative aspect, which is the fact that the rooms are badly soundproofed. I guess this is something difficult to improve and related to the fact that the hotel was build in the 18th century (Maybe the hotel management could think of isolation on the doors). Much more important is that the employees make you feel very welcome and grant you every wish you might have. I can only confirm all positive ratings this hotel has received so far!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joerg a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words about us. We appreciate your suggestion of having a better isolation on the doors, which we will look in detail. Your feedback is a valuable source of information and help us monitor the service we provide.
Thank you once more for your time and support.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Property: As Janelas Verdes
Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing