We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home away from home”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Boutique hotel, nice and cozy, but also efficient. Spacious rooms and also spacious common areas. Nicely decorated. Very pleasant roof terrace, with great view, and lovely garden where we had breakfast.
Location not so convenient.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank marco56italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for As Janelas Verdes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 933 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

An outstanding boutique hotel, beautifully furnished and with very helpful staff. The view from the library and terrace over the River Tagus was memorable. If ever in Lisbon again, I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Janelas Verdes is one of the most beautiful experiences we had.

It's friendly, classy, the personnel is very pleasant and always provides excellent services and recommendations.

We felt home and enjoyed our tea times in the library! The location is quit good and the area is so calm, very safe and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorsCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was originally due to stay in their sister hotel, the Lisboa Plaza, last year but had to cancel due to a family illness just days before the trip. As the booking was on a no refund basis, I was pleasently surprised that the hotel offered to honour the booking if I rebooked a stay within 12 months. Having rebooked , I received a phone call days before I was due to arrive to ask if I would mind staying in the Jenalas Verdes as there was a problem with my booking in the Lisboa Plaza. I agreed and was promptly informed that breakfast would be included for the duration of my stay for facilitating the change. This was a nice gesture.

Having arrived at the hotel with my wife in the morning we were met by a charming receptionist who suggested an itenary for our first day, as well as informing us of the various transport tickets available and bus routes for various destinations. In fact any dealings we had with any staff member were first class. We had a charming room overlooking the river. The room was quite spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was also very good. There was an Honesty bar and tea and coffee making facilities on the third floor library. Here one could serve themselves drinks and enjoy them in the comfort of the library and a open air terrace overlooking the Tagus river. I foubd this much more of an attractive proposition than having drinks in a bedroom. There is free Wi-fi and computer and printing facilities just near the reception, very handy for online check-in for flights. Breakfast was excellent and served until noon, which is a nice touch.
The hotel itself is about a 20 minute walk from the center of things, but buses are frequent and taxis are cheap.
Tip for your Lisbon stay. Either book a Lisbon ticket which lasts for three days, or a two day Yellow bus ticket. These tickets give unlimited travel on all trams, buses and Yellow tour buses and are well worth the price. Also take the Yellow bus tours at the start of your stay to give you a sense of your bearings in Lisbon. I would advise staying on the buses without getting off for the initial journey and note the places you want to visit. Then just get on again and get off where you wish.

Room Tip: Rooms 31 and 32 on the third floor are qyite and overlook the Tagus. They are also next to the libr...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Whitethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A gem of a boutique hotel situated in "the street of the green windows." A discreet emerald green door leeds you in to a haven of past time charm. The staff are amazingly helpful and polite. The decor is shabby chic and could of been influenced by your wealthy maiden aunt. The room was of reasonable size with a decanter of port (gratis). The library houses a well stocked honesty bar (good value depending on how large you like your measures). Exterior to this is a balcony (although small) overlooking the river "Tejo"....a real sun trap. There is an exterior courtyard with climbing fig trees and quaint spiral staircases where breakfast is served. A great selection of food and freshly squeezed juices.....if anything has run out, the staff are only too happy to replenish. Over-all.... a great experience and would definitely go back. On return to the UK, we received a letter from the manager thanking us for our kind comments in the visitors book.....nice touch....a big congratulations to the staff and management of the "As Janelas Verdes Hotel...Lisbon!!!!!"

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel (no traffic noise) or if you're a smoker at the front (y...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forbiche08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank leonardus p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We booked this hotel through Easyjet as a city break - we liked the fact that it was a small hotel. Friendly and informative check in and the desk staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was pleasant and quiet - we had an entrance hall with the room off to one side and the bathroom off to the other. Everything was very clean and well kept. The buffet breakfast was excellent with hot and cold selections, great fruit salad and nice selection of bread and cakes. The public rooms are relaxing and the library on the top floor is a great place to sit and drink a tea or coffee. I found the bed a bit too firm for me but there was plenty of bedding and pillows. Close to the tram lines and with free entry to the Museo de Arte Antiga along the road on presentation of the room card.
All in all a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 253 in Lisbon
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 253 in Lisbon
2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $151 - $1,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing