We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“In the Lap of Luxury in Lisbon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“In the Lap of Luxury in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Olissipo Lapa Palace Lisbon

Sunday 2nd June found us at Manchester airport at 11.20am for the TAP flight direct to Lisbon. Flight unremarkable met on arrival by Azamara agents and transferred by private limo to the Olissipo Lapa Palace hotel high above the Tagus, on the edge of the Alcantara district. The hotel appeared quite luxurious but so many lobby areas of hotels are the same worldwide and the rooms are a disappointment. The person who greeted us was a delightful girl and check-in was quick and she personally took us to our room on the 5th floor No. 524 which was fantastic, and the concierge was already waiting outside with our bags and showed us the facilities in the room.

The room was a good size with a decent amount of wardrobe and drawer space and a safe. There was a large balcony with table and two padded chairs. This not only overlooked the swimming pool and garden, but also provided a great view of the Tagus in the background. The king sized bed was hard, as always in Portugal, and so we used spare pillows to lie on.

The bathroom was amazing. It was completely marble with the hotel's name etched into the marble floor in the centre. Over the large bath was a Portuguese tiled mural (Azulejos) depicting the River Tagus and the April 25 bridge. There was a separate large shower enclosure, and as one would expect in a good standard continental hotel, a bidet. Adjacent to one of the two sinks, was a large magnifying mirror which was height adjustable. The toiletries were L'Occitaine and consisted of shampoo, hair conditioner, shower gel and body lotion.

There was a twice daily chambermaid service with towels changed both times, a mark of class. Another indicator of the standard, was the provision during the turn-down service, of a foot mat and slippers at each side of the bed. Even Silversea Cruises no longer provide the former and this means that your bare feet need never touch the carpets.

We changed and went to the pool, collecting a towel before choosing two padded loungers. The pool area and the pool itself were clean and in good order. It was large and the water was pleasantly warm, and.although there is a heated indoor pool, we did not use it.

Being a Sunday the local restaurant we wanted to patronise was closed. We therefore opted for the hotel restaurant and chose the black pork which was absolutely superb. Because of the preparation time of around 25 minutes, we were given two beautifully presented complimentary amuse-bouche.

Breakfast was not taken in the dining room, but in a separate area with an outdoor terrace. There was a good array of food served in a buffet style, especially the bread and pastries, which included the little custard tart (pasteis de nata) which is a speciality of Lisbon, and originated from a pastry shop in Belem – a suburb of Lisbon. These were kept warm for added delectation. As well as a toaster, there was a circular little carousel for warming croissants etc, a novel idea.

There was a small Internet room but we did also see a notice that free wifi was available.

We arranged with the Azamara rep in the hotel for all our bags to be taken to the ship whilst we got a taxi downtown for other business. The ship was berthed at the Santa Apolonia cruise terminal, the closest to the centre of Lisbon. The new cruise terminal has yet to be completely finished, in fact there appears to be no sign of any construction work, despite claims it would be operational in 2013.

This hotel is by far the most superior we have used in Lisbon, and we would recommend it unconditionally. However there is only one drawback, the hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the River Tagus and is therefore not situated “downtown”. It Is several kilometres distance from the Alfama district and the station at Rossio. However there is a stop at the back of the hotel, roughly a five minute walk, for tram No. 25 which will take you to Praca do Comercio, in the centre of Lisbon..

Room Tip: Room 524, or any room facing the pool and overlooking the River Tagus, the higher the floor, the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    141
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
206
488
28
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This palace has recently been turned into a 5 star hotel - It is located in a residential neighborhood - when you turn into the gated drive-way and see the top hated valet you know you have arrived!! we stayed there two nights and had a gorgeous room in the new section - huge by European standards - the room had a lovely large terrace where we had room service breakfast - we also ate in the dining room and had the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairings - excellent - I had asked for a topper for the mattress as it was too hard for me - they were all being used - so when we returned the next week for a one night stay they remembered and placed us in the palace where the beds are much softer - I have to add the swimming pool is to die for - also the lunch at the pool was served beautifully and the menu was very good and inventive - the staff were extremely helpful - a true 5 star property!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 501Marj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana_Gerardo, Gerente de relações com clientes at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
On behalf of our team a big thank you for choosing lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon. we also thank you for sharing your " stunning" experience.

Our team will continue making all efforts to guarantee that Lapa Palace can be your Home in Lisbon.

we are all looking forward to welcome you back soon.

sincerely

Susana Gerardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped just for 2 nights there before our plane back home, we didn't enjoy the swimming pool during the day but had very great morning "wake up" 10min swim even before officially opening time, nobody scream or kicked us out!
Every person (I don't even want them call "staff") was extremely helpful, polite and "non-visible"! You don't fill like somebody is watching your back, 3 times somebody visited our room when we check in:
- change the bed cover to fresh white color
- add extra welcome appetizers, water
- robs were relocated from closet to bed
Very fancy signs to "Clean" or "Not Disturb" :)
Internet is OK to watch movies on computers, everyday changed towels (the new opportunity in Canada to keep environment free of soap and not changing the fresh towels doesn't work in Portugal yet and we had fresh towels, fresh water, fresh room every day to enjoy the view from balcony to the river and inside yard with swimming pool and garden.
Restaurant is nice to have glass of wine, coffee at night, enjoy real piano play and fresh breeze from the river. We didn't order dinner because we prefer not to eat at midnight:)
Make sure you have a lot of change in your pocket to "thank you" workers in a breakfast time and when they bring your car or call you to wake you up by your request, those people trained very well and do their work extremely professionally.
I will recommend this hotel at least once in your life to catch that "renaissance" filling and enjoy great hospitality as it suppose to be at every hotel (I wish)
Location is great, old area around with consulates and embassies around, very tricky up-and-downs especially you drive "standard" instead of "automat" car. Be careful if you not use to it.
Enjoy your stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: order room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anta_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We loved this place! The hotel is not in downtown Lisbon however we could still walk to Tram 28. The hotel was decorated beautifully! We had a room that faced the river and it was spectacular. The sfaff was really friendly and helpful with directions, taxis, etc... We did not dine on the property because we had a 6 year old, but they have a Michelin star restaurant we wanted to try. The pool is beautiful and big with food and drink service. When I come back to Lisbon I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisac1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervia Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

An old palazzo from the century that Portugal was mastering the seas in the very nice location in Mandragoa. Very close to the Bairro Alto where the night life resides. Elegance and excellent service are the two pillars of its hospitality. Very warm people at the service. A must when visiting Lisbon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chistos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel located in a 17th century palazzo.the fooms decorated in classic style, very chic and with good taste and nice garden view. But what impressed me most of all?-when we had to leave to airport at 5:30am in the morning, they served us early coffee with warm croissants! That was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebekka026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed just one night (sadly) in September 2013 and we would consider returning to Lisbon just so we could have a longer stay there. This is an old world style high quality hotel with large rooms that are beautifully decorated. It's like living in a large country mansion. The bed was comfortable - a US sized King. Shower was large, marble lined and had lots of hot water with great water pressure. In all fairness I should point out that we stayed using an Amex platinum card so we were automatically upgraded and received some pleasant add ons such as a half bottle of LBV port and some delicious local pastries. Our room had an enormous patio complete with plush loungers as well as a table and 4 chairs. The room had a pop up TV. It's hard to find anything negative to say except that the bedside lamps were not ideal for reading. The restaurant was first class although we got occasional whiffs of cigarette smoke from a bunch of swiss travelers who were smoking on the outside patio. They were pretty noisy too and caused a few people to change table. Staff were consistently good throughout the hotel making our short stay extra pleasant. All in all, I would have to say that this hotel has gone onto our "must go back" list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diabaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana_Gerardo, Gerente de relações com clientes at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
thank you so much for choosing Lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon and of course for your kind words.

it's truly important for us your comments that i will gladly share with our staff as well as your suggerstions.

Looking forward to welcome you again

We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Susana Gerardo
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing