We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Great Neck, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family of 5 recently spent 3 nights at the Lapa Palace and had a fantastic stay! The rooms are spacious (we had adjoining garden view rooms) and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are spacious and well done. We enjoyed eating the buffet breakfast outside on the terrace. The entire staff of the hotel (reception, concierge, pool staff and restaurant staff) was friendly and quite helpful. We had lunch at the pool one day and it was delicious. The pool area is really nice and relaxing. We enjoyed spending time there after touring. You do need to take a taxi to the city but they arrive very quickly to the hotel and it is a quick ride. I think this is by far the best hotel to stay in while visiting Lisbon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LItravelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana_Gerardo, Guest Relations Manager at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon. It was a great pleasure and a privilege to have such comments. Our team will continue making all efforts to guarantee that Lapa Palace can be your Home in Lisbon.

We are all Looking forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Sincere regards

Susana Gerardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    158
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
220
535
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mentmore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It is worth going to Lisbon just to experience this hotel! An oasis is Lisbon. The staff are excellent without being intrusive, the pool gardens are amazing and the food is fabulous. One of my favourite hotels. Also, a first timer to Portugal, was blown away. Go there.

Room Tip: Overlooking the wonderful pool gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just had a great 5 days at the Lapa Palace. Great place to stay in Lisbon although you will need taxis to get to most places although taxis are very good value. The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. With so many great restaurants in the city we did not eat at the hotel for dinner. The concierge was excellent recommending places to eat and booking a good table. The pool area is great so if you want something more than a standard city break this may well be for you. Not cheap but like many things in life you get what you pay for and in this case it was value for money

Room Tip: Choose a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As our first stay at Lapa Palace was so wonderful we decided to book another stay on a return trip to Lisbon. We asked for the same room in the garden wing, giving us a beautiful view of the lush gardens/pool and the Tagus river further on the horizon. We also liked being close to the gym and the pristine and well-equipped spa. The room had a separate entrance area with a second door that opened to the bedroom. The bathroom was very large with a separate tub and shower. The full balcony added to the feeling that we were staying in a luxurious vacation apartment rather than a city hotel room. The only thing that we missed was an in-room teapot/coffee machine.
We were very impressed with the quality of services and the helpfulness of the staff, many of whom we recognized from our stay a year ago. We got excellent recommendations and suggestions for restaurants, museums, etc.
The breakfast buffet is absolutely superb and one has a choice of indoor or outdoor seating.
Be aware that the hotel is located in a residential area and that you really need a car or taxi if you want to get places quickly. Walking is an option only if the sun is not too hot and you can do hills (this is Lisbon).
Whether you are in Lisbon for business (free wifi throughout the property) or pleasure, this hotel is an excellent option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Lapa Palace hotel in a suite in the original building. The room was beautifully decorated, if you like classical decor then this is the place for you. The bedroom had a separate tea room and 3 different balconies with a view to the river. Other things to note are (1) the buffet breakfast is very nice, (2), the pool and garden are are paradise with very comfortable lounges, (3) the bathroom products are L'Occitane, and (4) the gym is fairly good for a hotel with a mix of cardio and free/machine weights.

Every person working in the hotel was extraordinarily friendly and helpful (restaurant, room service, reception, doorman, pool staff) in particular Filipa who even lent us her own beach umbrella when we went on a day trip to the beach.

I'm sure we will be back in Lisbon as it is a beautiful city and for sure we will be staying at the Lapa Palace Hotel again as it is difficult to find any fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just completed a fantastic six day stay with my wife and 12 year old daughter. The hotel has a beautiful garden with an outdoor pool so we were able to combine relaxation by the pool and investigating Lisbons many sights. The service in the hotel was excellent and we really enjoyed the beautiful breakfast.
We used taxis to bring us to the city centre - these are relatively cheap especially with 3 of us travelling.
The only downside was the cost of the poolside food and drinks which we thought was on the high side.

We would recommend this hotel and will certainly come back when we visit Lisbon again.

Room Tip: Make sure breakfast is included in your room package
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent 5 days as a family in this wonderful place
We had two communicating rooms in the historical wing.
Furnitures were very beautiful. Bathroom is very comfortable
Pools are great (indoor and outdoor)
Breakfast is delicious with a lot of good fruits and the service is perfect.
The desk is supportive and helpful, the chef concierge has good addresses for restaurants and takes time to know what you want to do.
We enjoyed our stay in Lapa Palace and look forward to go back.

Room Tip: historical wing is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
568 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,295 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing