We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but very lonely no one around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #11 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We travel the world extensively, and I chose this hotel for its safety. Portugal can be very dangerous if you dont stay in the right place. It is located on a hill, with winding cobblestone streets, nestled in between all the embassies. You see secret service walking on occassion.but such a great walk to the antique tran,a great cappuccino shop with the most delicious pastries you have ever eaten in your life. The hotel is decorated with french antiques and gold leave, fit for a king. The staff very helpful, but creepy because the hotel is so empty. I assume its because the rooms are $400 - 500.00 a night. You pay for the lavish and gorgeouschotel. I also got a beautiful pair of slippers as a gift for staying. The room had a beautifulview of the sea and the boats going by. The grounds had gardens an hundered year old trees. The bed had Princess pillow on each bed that said Lapa Palace. You do feel like riyalty. The bathroom all marble, the closets with drawers and little lights. A colored velvet bow showed whether you were in your room or did not want to be disturbed. You also had a doorbell. Great overall experience

Room Tip: Ask for waterview to see the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for Olissippo Lapa Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

HOTEL
Classical grand hotel located in the embassy district on a hill just outside the centre of Lisbon. Room varies a lot in terms of view and interior style, some rooms not really my taste in terms of decoration, others really beautiful.

ROOM
We had booked a deluxe palace room with a large terrace. Arrived early morning at around 0930 (efficient and good pick up at the airport organised through the hotel – expensive (90 euro), but a nice and relaxed way to arrive).
We were first told that our room was not yet ready and decided to have breakfast and then go to the pool. After breakfast we went to change in the spa, where the woman from check in came to find us to tell that she had upgraded us to a suite in the garden wing, which was ready for us. I was a little sceptical at first, since some of the garden wing rooms are not as nicely decorated as the palace wing rooms, but forgot all about this after having seen the large suite. A hallway, a living room with the bed for our son plus sofa, chairs and a table in addition to a writing desk and a small “kitchen” (mini bar, coffee/tea making facilities). From there into a large, separate bedroom (bed too firm for my liking, but after requesting a mattress topper, it was very comfortable) and a very large bathroom with wardrobe, double vanities, bath tub, separate shower, separate toilet plus two exits to the terrace with a nice view of the pool and the city and river from the suite in the 5th floor. We really enjoyed this suite.

POOL, SPA, GYM
It was heat wave in Lisbon at the time with temperatures well above 40 degrees celcius, so we were extremely happy about the garden and the pool at Lapa Palace. Comfortable loungers, plenty of umbrellas, good service with drinks and food either around the pool or in the (outside) pool restaurant.
Did not try the spa.
Good, but small gym.

FOOD
We had breakfast and lunches in the hotel. Quick and friendly service, good food.

SERVICE
Concierge gave us good tips for sightseeing and booked restaurants for us. We did not have any “out of the box” requests, but they were eager to please us and gave us a very good service both during and before our stay. We felt recognized and our preferences were remembered.
Housekeeping was good, but forgot our room at turn down once which should of course not happen. We had left the room at 1730, and came back at 2100 and no one had been there. Also the refill of the complimentary coffee was not always done, so we had to call them to make sure we got extra coffee for the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because of its beautiful outdoor pool and garden, since we were there in summer, and we were glad we did! This hotel is fantastic, very friendly staff, good-sized rooms and nice spa. Breakfast was delicious. There is also a cigar room next to the bar. The hotel is a little far from the city centre, but taxis in Lisbon are cheap, so not a big issue. If you are looking for a quiet and luxury place for your Lisbon holiday, this is your hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and gardens are extremely pleasant.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Classy and high quality hotel, you'll really feel nice staying at that place. It's a palace and deserves its name.
We went to the center in 15 minutes on foot but you can also walk 2 minutes and take the "electrico" (tramway) or call a taxi (they come in front of the main entrance).
If you come by car for a few days in Lisbon you would better let your car at the hotel garage and use taxis (7€ to city center / Marques Pombal). Ask the reception.
Room was clean and rooms from 2nd floor and up get a nice view. We were on 1st floor and had some kind small lake in front, that's nice too but pay attention to mosquitos and bees!
Breakfast was very complete with several juices and bread, eggs, bacon, salmon, and so on.

Very friendly and attentive staff. The piano bar with exhaustive choice of beverages (alcool and non-alcool, tea ("chá"), coffee.

Nice balcony and bathroom. However, people taller than 1.60 m should ask for a room with a shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel and we could not have been happier. The rooms are spacious and lovely with a somewhat private balcony. The grounds are beautiful. The staff could not be more helpful or accomodating. Rui the concierge was the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I travel a lot and don't get surprised by hotels easily, but this one was a wonderful surprise.
Pluses: Beautiful, impressive and classy property, inside and out. Really deserves the Palace name.
The service by the helpful staff was among the very best anywhere in the world, rivaling that of the best hotels in Singapore.
Our beautiful room had a balcony overlooking the gardens. All very quiet and peaceful, even though it is in an upscale area of Lisbon.
Finally, it had an excellent gourmet restaurant with great staff as well
Minuses: None

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is my fourth time I have stayed here. Each time I am looking for negatives. But I have yet to really find one. The rooms are beautiful. Some ( the one I always stay in ) have a large terrace overlooking the gardens. There is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool. The spa and gym are great. Gym with all the equipment incl a power plate. Staff are wonderful. Great Bar with fab music. Good breakfast room. I enjoy just staying in the hotel. Rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old wing are best with large balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#8 of 253 in Lisbon
939 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 253 in Lisbon
933 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 253 in Lisbon
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $334 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing