We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love that hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love that hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Everything great: not too big, but nice lobby, the pool-area is really exciting with palms and tasteful architecture. Rooms are spacious and clean. had one with pool-view and would always again take that

Room Tip: Pool-View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    162
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
226
544
29
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Two night stay....have to say, in a hire car and new to Lisbon the hotel would have been tough to find without a hired GPS however, that aside, from the minute you arrive this place is top notch...service impeccable and a calm quality about the whole place. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Uist, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Over the course of the last 30 years I have stayed in a considerable number of quality hotels in various parts of the US, UK and Australia. My experience in this hotel was the best I have ever encountered. The facilities - in every aspect - are outstanding whilst the staff go out of their way to ensure that guest enjoy every possible comfort. The one aspect which may be a drawback for some prospective guests - although it certainly wasn't for me - is the location. The hotel is situated in the Diplomatic quarter of Lisbon - the site of a number of Embassies and Consulates - a 10 minute taxi drive from the central part of the City. The area of the hotel is very quiet and it is sited in the most beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Third visit here and stayed for 2 nights while awaiting a cruise. Personnel and associated service is top notch. Your wish is their command. Rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. Indoor pool and spa very nice. Breakfast (included) very good with buffet and cooked-to-order items. Most will find food and drink pricey. There is no service charge for room service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a great hotel in the Lapa area of Lisbon, about 10 minutes in a taxi to the west of the centre. It was a palace originally in the 19th Century and has been upgraded and converted over the years. We went as a large group and had a brilliant time - the staff are charming and professional, the breakfasts are out of this world, the rooms are huge, the gardens are stunning with waterfalls everywhere, our shower was the size of a small conservatory. We used a meeting room on the 5th floor which was my only critique as you couldn't open the windows and there isn't much natural light. But in hindsight that is a minor quibble as the hotel was paradise for 3 days and just the perfect place to both work and relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDemandingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Lapa Palace Hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of September 2012 for our wedding anniversary and were thrilled with our choice.

The room was glorious, spacious and elegant with beautiful views over the lush gardens and pool, with a distant view of the Tagus. Great beds and menu to select the pillows of your choice.

Staff were among best I've experienced anywhere we've previously stayed. They just couldn't help us enough and either confirmed choices or suggested excellent places to eat etc.

The hotel may be a bit too far 'out for town' for some people but most places were a short (& cheap) taxi ride away. I would recommend however that you take the address of the hotel out with you if you intend taking a taxi back to the hotel. Many of the taxi drivers we had did not know where the hotel was so the written down address (our Portuguese pronunciation was clearly not up to scratch!) saved the day on several occasions, including the journey to the hotel from the airport.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, sitting outside on the veranda overlooking the pool. The fare was local and so different from what we are accustomed to experiencing at home and we hugely enjoyed the local food and Portuguese wine. Looking at some comments here I'm wondering whether some people commenting on the food here expect the same type of bland and boring food wherever they travel rather trying the local fare? We also ate in the bar one lunch time and this was more international food but very plentiful and enjoyable all the same.

The hotel and bar prices weren't cheap but I feel this is 'par for the course' in 5 star hotels.

One of our highlights was sampling the port, as recommended by the barman. Expensive? Yes, but well worth the price for drinking such a glorious drink in the country it was made. For us, an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeys60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Exceptional hotel. On our last day, I described it as "perfect" in all ways. Beautiful setting, top service (especially the room service), peaceful gettaway, romantic, just wonderful. It is a little out of the way from the most active areas of town, but only a 5-10 minute cab ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilimax6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,324 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 251 in Lisbon
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing