We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend at Lapa Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend at Lapa Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

We spent Easter weekend at Lapa Palace and had a wonderful time. I would have given it a positive review even before we arrived, simply based on the level of organization and information provided by the concierge desk. Though generic hotel material, we were provided with excellent information on activities, restaurants, tours and the city. I would definitely like to single out the daytime concierge "Rui Pedro (apologies if spelt wrong) who was very helpful throughout our stay, and the maitre de at Cipriani whose service and enthusiasm were exceptional.

Our hotel room was spacious, very comfortable and had a lovely view of the gardens and pool from a balcony (don't be shy of using the pillow menus as they do make a difference). Breakfast which was included for us was plentiful and tasty. There were some nice touches of providing a bottle of water with the turndown service each evening, as well as having no additional charges for ordering room service. Flagged by tripadvisor reviews, its location isn't in the middle of the city, but we found that quite refreshing as it wasn't that noisy. Also, taxis are very cheap (it doees not cost more than 5 Euros to get to most places). Goes without saying, but this is a luxury expensive hotel, so don't go there if you are looking for a bargain on any front.

As far as Lisbon goes I would recommend the following: 1) definitely go to Belem for the sights (as well as the pastries); 2) trip to Sintra and Cascais is a must; 3) Dinner at "Olivier" is excellent (there is also a Port Wine institute next to it which allows you to sample various ports for as little as 2 Euros); 4) the packed tram 84 is a nice way to get to the Castle from the hotel and is worth the experience.

Overall, expected from any luxury hotel, the hotel did whatever they could to make our stay comfortable, and we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    150
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
211
509
28
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We have just arrived back from a long 4 day Easter break, we arrived at the airport at 10.am and should have had a private transfer waiting supplied by Kuoni World Class, however no one was there. We rung Lapa Palace and withing 5 minutes they had a car with a driver there and delivered us in super style. This is pretty much what Lapa is all about, Listening and acting without fuss.

The Hotel and Gardens are superb, The rooms are of a very high quality and finish we had one on the sixth floor overlooking the gardens and river with a lovely little balcony with 2 chairs and table Ideal for lunch or drinks while a real sun trap at the same time.

The room service is absolutley fantastic wether it be for food, drinks, pillows or weather reports they simply are very professional and extremely fast with all requests.

The standard of the food throughout the hotel is very high and especially the afternoon teas served after 3pm, they are lovely. The breakfast is again proffesional/fresh and well presented, It is really nice to seee people making an effort to smarten up when they go for breakfast.

It is deffinately a hotel we will re visit in the future probably more in the summer when the outdoor pool and gardens would be a great escape with no need to venture away from the grounds

The restraunts they suggested for us again no problem all lovely
Overall no matter how special a place is, I believe the real difference is made by the staff and for that reason alone, Lapa Palace will always be a top destination Many Thanks to you all

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Floral arrangements very tired
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

Despite disappointing weather, we had a wonderful stay at the Lapa Palace. The location is brilliant, close to the centre, with embassies in all the nearby streets. Our room was very big, with a balcony overlooking the gardens and swimming-pool. The concierge gave us really good tips on good restaurants.
The only negative point was the fact that I had slight food poisoning with raw tuna by room service.

  • Liked — The building, the garden, the location
  • Disliked — The room service (food poisoning !)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeverineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSpagnol, General Manager at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2008
Dear Tripadvisor member,
I wish to thank you for your very encouraging comments on our hotel. Regarding the tuna, it was the first complaint we have ever received regarding this issue and I do apologize for this inconvenience. However, when tuna is eaten rear or medium rear, it may sometimes cause digestive problems. Even if we follow HACCP rules and procedures, and despite the fact that the fish is Fresh from the catch of the day, we took your comments very seriously, and have completely removed the fresh tuna from our menus.

Kind regards,
Philippe Spagnol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

The Lapa Palace is a stunning hotel, we picked this hotel for a special 4 day Birthday celebration and the whole experience and levels of service really did exceed our expectations.

We were delighted with the warm and friendly greetings given to us on our arrival. I must say a special thanks to Pedro who escorted us to our room and ensured we had everything we needed. Being shown how to operate the plasma TV and DVD that magically appeared at the bottom of the King Size bed was invaluble! The room had an Ipod dock which was really useful to charge my Iphone and play music - Excellent touch!

Although we were over awed by the high levels of service and attention to detail at Lapa Palace, we were always made to feel welcome and as important as any of the numerous VIP guests who have stayed at Lapa Palace - people like Bono, Cher, Sir Paul McCartney, Sting and oh yeah, George Bush!

Our room was stunning with a full marble bathroom,a luxuriously comfortable bed and fine linen's. The room is adorned with beautiful ceramics and tasteful decor. The housekeeping is of the highest standard and the attention to detail in all areas is impeccable. Rooms are turned down each evening and some lovely touches are applied including a nice card with a 4 day weather forecast and a superb pillow menu detailing the range of pillows available.

If you stay at Lapa Palace I would recommend you take the buffet breakfast. The selection of fresh fruits, juices, pastries, croissants, cerials, toast and Bircher Muesuli is awesome! After all that you can look forward to the hot breakfast which is fantastic and everything is cooked to perfection. This is the first time I have had a cooked breakfast and not wished to add any additional sauces or seasoning. Again the service in the breakfast room is faultless - Oh and 27 Euro's for a breakfast of this standard is a bargain !

All the staff we met were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble. I would particularly like to thank Phillipe Ricardo for helping us get to the nearest Harley-Davidson Dealer and find our way around Lisbon. I must also say a big thank you to Bruno for those very important Portuguese lessons he gave to Mr Hewson back in 2004 which helped make Vertigo such a perfect song! 1,2,3,14 ;-)

We have only been home for 4 days and we can't wait to go back - just need to get saving first!

Thanks again for helping us celebrate my wife's birthday in such style and we are looking forward to checking in again sometime soon!

Jon and Eleri

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

The Lapa Palace is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed! The service is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful, and the food is great. I would definitely stay here again if I could afford it!
Now that being said, I have to admit that I sometimes felt a bit uncomfortable there. Not because of anything anyone did, but because I felt consistently underdressed! This a beautiful somewhat formal place - it is a palace after all - and I was dressed for climbing the hills of of the city (jeans and sneakers). Next time I will pack differently, because I absolutely want to enjoy this place again.
I think the biggest downside is the location - I am actually not quite sure it is located (I had a hard time getting oriented due to the one way winding streets of Lisbon), but we had to take cabs to everything - not much within walking distance. With the exception of the Museu Nacionale de Arte Antigua which is pretty fabulous.

  • Liked — its glorious comfort
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boonesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend away at the Lapa Palace. We got off to a good start when, on arrival, our room was upgraded (without asking), and we were shown to a lovely room overlooking the garden with an exceptionally comfortable 6' bed. There were lots of nice touches in the room including a complimentary bottle of port and chocolates which made us feel spoilt from the off. The concierge, Rui, really knew his stuff and gave us loads of tips to get the best out of the weekend. He also recommended a fabulous new restaurant, Sageideras, whose Portugese food and wine were absolutely amazing. We can't wait to tell our friends about our super experience.

  • Liked — Clean, comfotable and great service.
  • Disliked — The power cuts.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JASPERTHEJUBILANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

We just spent 5 nights at the Lapa Palace and I can't say enough good things about it. The staff was extremely helpful, especially the concierge. The setting is really beautiful with a beautiful pool/garden area in the back. The common areas, like the lobby, were also very beautiful and luxurious. Great rooms/large marble bathrooms and beauitufl decor. The beds are a bit firm but some people like that- I prefer a bit softer. I have to say I really loved the location. It is in a quiet part of town where, except for 2 restaurants within walking distance, you have to take a taxi to get anywhere. The taxi was never more than 6 euros(except to get to the airport which was 13 euros without tip) and the center of town is really loud and busy- so much traffic/congestion. If you're looking to unwind, you want to stay in a location like this- not in the center. We had booked our last night at the Sofitel on our way back from Porto and they'd overbooked the hotel (never heard of that happening to anyone else) so luckily we were able to run right back to Lapa for our last night which was heaven. The sofitel was in a part of town that was so noisy and congested.
Also, the breakfast buffet was excellent- make sure it's included in your price- otherwise it's 26 euros each. I did order an omelette the first day and they charged me 13 euros! I thought it was included in the buffer but it wasn't.
You must go to a restaurant 2 blocks away- Nariz do Vinho Tinto. I found it in Frommers and we went twice. Excellent food! The setting is simple but homey. The owner is wonderful and very personable- he even gave me a free bottle of wine to take home!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — decor, rooms, staff
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Leo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing