We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you travel to Lisbon you MUST stay at Lapa Palace !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you travel to Lisbon you MUST stay at Lapa Palace !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

The Lapa Palace is a stunning hotel, we picked this hotel for a special 4 day Birthday celebration and the whole experience and levels of service really did exceed our expectations.

We were delighted with the warm and friendly greetings given to us on our arrival. I must say a special thanks to Pedro who escorted us to our room and ensured we had everything we needed. Being shown how to operate the plasma TV and DVD that magically appeared at the bottom of the King Size bed was invaluble! The room had an Ipod dock which was really useful to charge my Iphone and play music - Excellent touch!

Although we were over awed by the high levels of service and attention to detail at Lapa Palace, we were always made to feel welcome and as important as any of the numerous VIP guests who have stayed at Lapa Palace - people like Bono, Cher, Sir Paul McCartney, Sting and oh yeah, George Bush!

Our room was stunning with a full marble bathroom,a luxuriously comfortable bed and fine linen's. The room is adorned with beautiful ceramics and tasteful decor. The housekeeping is of the highest standard and the attention to detail in all areas is impeccable. Rooms are turned down each evening and some lovely touches are applied including a nice card with a 4 day weather forecast and a superb pillow menu detailing the range of pillows available.

If you stay at Lapa Palace I would recommend you take the buffet breakfast. The selection of fresh fruits, juices, pastries, croissants, cerials, toast and Bircher Muesuli is awesome! After all that you can look forward to the hot breakfast which is fantastic and everything is cooked to perfection. This is the first time I have had a cooked breakfast and not wished to add any additional sauces or seasoning. Again the service in the breakfast room is faultless - Oh and 27 Euro's for a breakfast of this standard is a bargain !

All the staff we met were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble. I would particularly like to thank Phillipe Ricardo for helping us get to the nearest Harley-Davidson Dealer and find our way around Lisbon. I must also say a big thank you to Bruno for those very important Portuguese lessons he gave to Mr Hewson back in 2004 which helped make Vertigo such a perfect song! 1,2,3,14 ;-)

We have only been home for 4 days and we can't wait to go back - just need to get saving first!

Thanks again for helping us celebrate my wife's birthday in such style and we are looking forward to checking in again sometime soon!

Jon and Eleri

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    151
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
214
513
29
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

The Lapa Palace is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed! The service is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful, and the food is great. I would definitely stay here again if I could afford it!
Now that being said, I have to admit that I sometimes felt a bit uncomfortable there. Not because of anything anyone did, but because I felt consistently underdressed! This a beautiful somewhat formal place - it is a palace after all - and I was dressed for climbing the hills of of the city (jeans and sneakers). Next time I will pack differently, because I absolutely want to enjoy this place again.
I think the biggest downside is the location - I am actually not quite sure it is located (I had a hard time getting oriented due to the one way winding streets of Lisbon), but we had to take cabs to everything - not much within walking distance. With the exception of the Museu Nacionale de Arte Antigua which is pretty fabulous.

  • Liked — its glorious comfort
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boonesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend away at the Lapa Palace. We got off to a good start when, on arrival, our room was upgraded (without asking), and we were shown to a lovely room overlooking the garden with an exceptionally comfortable 6' bed. There were lots of nice touches in the room including a complimentary bottle of port and chocolates which made us feel spoilt from the off. The concierge, Rui, really knew his stuff and gave us loads of tips to get the best out of the weekend. He also recommended a fabulous new restaurant, Sageideras, whose Portugese food and wine were absolutely amazing. We can't wait to tell our friends about our super experience.

  • Liked — Clean, comfotable and great service.
  • Disliked — The power cuts.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JASPERTHEJUBILANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

We just spent 5 nights at the Lapa Palace and I can't say enough good things about it. The staff was extremely helpful, especially the concierge. The setting is really beautiful with a beautiful pool/garden area in the back. The common areas, like the lobby, were also very beautiful and luxurious. Great rooms/large marble bathrooms and beauitufl decor. The beds are a bit firm but some people like that- I prefer a bit softer. I have to say I really loved the location. It is in a quiet part of town where, except for 2 restaurants within walking distance, you have to take a taxi to get anywhere. The taxi was never more than 6 euros(except to get to the airport which was 13 euros without tip) and the center of town is really loud and busy- so much traffic/congestion. If you're looking to unwind, you want to stay in a location like this- not in the center. We had booked our last night at the Sofitel on our way back from Porto and they'd overbooked the hotel (never heard of that happening to anyone else) so luckily we were able to run right back to Lapa for our last night which was heaven. The sofitel was in a part of town that was so noisy and congested.
Also, the breakfast buffet was excellent- make sure it's included in your price- otherwise it's 26 euros each. I did order an omelette the first day and they charged me 13 euros! I thought it was included in the buffer but it wasn't.
You must go to a restaurant 2 blocks away- Nariz do Vinho Tinto. I found it in Frommers and we went twice. Excellent food! The setting is simple but homey. The owner is wonderful and very personable- he even gave me a free bottle of wine to take home!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — decor, rooms, staff
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Leo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed for a week. Location on the west of Lisbon is quiet (Diplomatic area) and is a 5 minute/5 Euro taxi ride from the centre. The room on the top floor of the Garden Wing was spacious and well appointed with good views of the garden and the town and river from the balcony. Very pleasant public rooms. Restaurant excellent (and expensive - get a package that includes breakfast). Superb pool and garden area. Staff extremely helpful. This is a quality hotel. Not cheap but good value for money.

  • Liked — Hotel Atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank APRLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful and I love small hotels.

The service is phenomenal. Everybody knows us by our names. We were greeted with some Pasteis de Belem (A Portuguese pastry), a bottle of Port and some fruits. Our stay included a lunch at the hotel restaurant. However, the receptionist told us we could have either dinner or lunch. Of course we picked dinner. At check out time, they said it was supposed to be for lunch only but they waived it for us anyways.

The location is a little out of the way for shopping. But taxis are plentiful and the fares are cheap. It is actually nicer to stay out of the busy areas of town. The hotel is in a nicer part of Lisboa. The area is very safe and pleasant.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jarusoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millstone township new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

If you are looking for impeccable service, you must stay at the Lapa Palace. They truly make you feel like royalty from the moment you walk through the doors. The concierge is at your beck and call, housekeeping is attentive to all your needs. When you ask for something, they are literally at your door in minutes. The entry lobby is beautiful with live bouquets of flowers adorning the area. The boutique shops are exquisite as well. The pool area is gorgeous, and the spa is great too. We stayed in a suite which was nicely appointed with ample closet space and terrace overlooking the Tagus River. The buffet was fabulous, with nice little touches such as warmed plates and hot milk for your coffee. Freshly squeezed orange juice and baked breads and muffins were also servied daily. The food was great with a few choices to select from. You are a 20 minute cab ride from the shopping area and trains. about 30 minutes from Cascais. It is located on a hill, so not really easy to walk around the area, but there are trams, buses ,and cabs at your disposal. Great restaurants in the area as well. Can't wait to go back!
Marilyn-Millstone Twnship New Jersey

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mscruiselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing