We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lisbon
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Alfama
from $15.92
More Info
from $11.37
More Info
from $17.39
More Info
from $20.46
More Info
Reviews (20,008)
Filter reviews
20,008 results
Traveler rating
12,315
6,391
1,038
168
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12,315
6,391
1,038
168
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow streets old lisbon fado museum fado music every corner flea market walking shoes beautiful area wander around real lisbon tuk tuk take your time sardines walk up walking tour visiting lisbon neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 20,008 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The area is truly lovely but is a tough walk with many hills. However, if you find out in advance there are free lifts scattered around that make the walking easier. They are not obvious though.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Maps817228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful area with a lovely contradiction of restored buildings and condemned, giving it a lovely charm. Not much to see or do and wasn’t as great as other areas of the city are.

It’s very hilly, a lot uphill, so wear the right shoes.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Restless13Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'd recommend a walking tour through the Alfama in order to gleam the history of this neighborhood, and Lisbon more generally. Time is well spent. Our guide, Jaime, was a history student and a good guide. Enjoy!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank MaryRuthQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful place to visit. So much history culture and charm. We took Tram 28 through here and it was lovely. Then we walked through Alfama. From the gorgeous cathedral to the quaint shops and numerous bars and restaurants every corner has something special to offer. While there we had a wonderful dinner and experience FADO which is sooo culturally uplifting and needs to be experienced. The Portuguese singers and passion truly were enjoyable.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank appietr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The alleys in Alfama are really narrow since it is the oldest district that was not wiped out by the earthquake (1755) and tsunami that hit Portugal; the area still retains much of its original layout. We had a chance to taste sweet Porto wine in a local handicraft shop. I loved that clothes were drying on lines that went across the alley from the balcony’s homes. a lot of walking uphill and downhill and the streets are very tight for cars.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews