We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better take the other elevators”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Justa Lift

Santa Justa Lift
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.26*
and up
Castle Tramcar Tour
Ranked #64 of 422 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This elevator is located inside a gothic tower, which provides quick and easy transport between Lisbon's Baixa and Bairro Alto districts.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Better take the other elevators”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Although this elevator is very famous, the other elevators in the city are much better.
The elevator is very expensive if you but the tickets directly in the elevator (better take a 24h ticket for 5 EUR, then you can use all the other elevators and the trams, the busses and the metro).
You have to stand in line for a long time if you want to use it and there might be some pickpockets around.
The trip does't take very long and goes directly up. It's not the typical elevator-feeling which you get in other elevators.
If you take one of the others, you'll have a trip of a few hundred meters and drive only centimeters from houses through the city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karithana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,520
    1,788
    1,219
    406
    241
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Only worth it if you’re passing by...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

...have a travel card or the Lisbon card and there’s no queue. Given that it’s 5 euros return to go up and down – get a travel card at least for the same amount and gain free entry and then you can travel on everything else around Lisbon. Out of all the views you can get around Lisbon, this isn’t particularly anything special other than a nice view of the Castelo de Sao Jorge. Not overly keen on heights so didn’t like taking the stairs to the top, took a few photos, came back down. If you’re planning to go to the Castelo de Sao Jorge or other viewpoints then you can safely give this a miss unless you want to eat the the restaurant next to it and have a meal with a view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HubbysNumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Open your mind and value what you are experiencing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ok, so this won't be something awesome if you go up and down on it and move on.
I recommend going in this elevator with an already paid ticket for a lower fare, after a few walks around Restauradores, Rossio, Praça da Figueira, Baixa, Terreiro do Paço, Cais Sodé. After you've seen all this and you still have time, how about climbing all the way to Largo do Carmo?! No way right?! So grab a bottle of water and a piece of fruit from the small grocery shops in Rua do Arsenal and wait in the queue for the elevator.
Then get in the elevator, see the view and think of how wonderful and typical the view is and how useful this elevator must have been, when people didn't drive everywhere. On the top, enjoy Largo do Carmo sitting on a coffee shop and prepare to continue climbing to Bairro Alto or walk down to Chiado to climb Rua Garrett.
I've climbed to Largo to Carmo enough to value the elevator.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“To expansive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We payed 5 euros each for the 5 seconds ride, we walk around and took same photos, but nothing special.We can't see nothing from inside the lift.
we don't had all day tickets so I think it was very expansive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_artist454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolute dissappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Although we had a valid Lisbon Card and we didn't have to pay extra for this elevador-ride, I must say that it is the worst attraction I've seen. Yes, it's a nice building and from Castelo de Sao Jorge you can see elevdaor as a landmark. But view from the castle or from city's different platforms is the same. We waited on the line about 25 minutes in the evening, then took a 20seconds ride up. Yes you can take pictures from platform, but we were quite surprised when we discovered that you can leave the top without using an elevadro - you just walk away, using wooden path and then you find the streets and , make some turns and you are down again. Why anyone should have to pay for this ride? OK, maybe elderly people who can't walk and climb much, then it's worth it. If you are fit, don't use it. And don't pay the money for it. I'm still quite surprised that even travelling books are suggesting this elevador ride. Dissapointment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank _kv_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Justa Lift also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Santa Justa Lift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing