We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly grand hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A truly grand hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

i've just arrived home from a wonderful trip to Portugal and it was capped with a four day stay in Lisbon at the Hotel Avenida Palace. Perhaps I should say 'crowned'. What a lovely and grand place it is. With all of the charm and elegance of an old style hotel, it was as comfortable as could be. I could only imagine, as I walked the hallways and ate in the lovely breakfast room, the individuals who had visited before me. It was wonderful to think of.
Still, in 2014, the service and amenities are as appreciated as ever. The embroidered pillowslips, and towels. The beautiful marble bathrooms and incredibly comfortable beds. The invitation to a piano concert and the gift of chocolate on the last evening. And finally, as we got in the car to leave, we were handed a gift bag containing a large bottle of water and cups for our trip. How thoughtful.
Most importantly, the staff was amazing. They take their jobs seriously and the comfort of their guests matter more than anything. For example, on the first night we arrived it was quite late and we asked Paulo the doorman if he had a suggestion for dinner. He did and began to give us directions but then quickly thought better of it and actually walked us to a nearby restaurant (Pinoquio-- fantastic and reviewed later!) and personally introduced us to the maitre d' to be seated.
My rating of this hotel is an unabashed five stars. It was an honor to be able to stay there!

Room Tip: Per Trip Advisor, we asked for an upper floor with a courtyard view and received that. it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ep416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.
It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
Our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests and I will forward on your comments .
I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.
Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.
Yours sincerely,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,978
    417
    77
    16
    8
See reviews for
477
1,434
116
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I chose this hotel for its location next to the train station and in the city center. The breakfast buffet lived up to the reviews and was outstanding. The servers were vigilant about seeing to each guest's needs every morning. I loved it.

The front desk was very welcoming and helpful but I have to give a special shout out to the gentleman who has been a concierge in this hotel now for about 40 years. He was a gem among gems. I may have never experienced such pleasant and competent assistance from a concierge anywhere in the world, and if I consider his wonderful personality and warmth toward our every question, he wins hands down. We felt he truly cared about our stay, our enjoyment of Lisbon and we couldn't leave without truly saying goodbye to a wonderful new friend.

We had a superior corner room as we'd requested and the thing I loved most was the giant window in the bathroom. The room, however, was small even by European standards and in truth seemed a bit tired.

All of this noted, the price for superior rooms at this hotel are a great bargain if you consider the breakfast buffet and wifi which are included. I would recommend this hotel because of all the reasons stated above, but have to deduct one star for room decor and size.

You will not be disappointed by the level of service, the food or location. There is no on sight restaurant for other than breakfast, but there are many options right out the door.

The hotel was charming in an old world way and I am still pleased we stayed due to the people we met while visiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

Our clients' feedback is very important to us and so, we are pleased to know that you overall had a pleasant stay with us. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members.

It will be a great honor to welcome you again as our guest, on your next visit to Lisbon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
194 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

While the communal areas are lovely, the bedrooms are like an old people’s home and the views over an internal courtyard are disappointing so you could be anywhere. For the first time in a hotel we encountered horrible-smelling linen and the bathroom has a distinctly institutional feel (please see photos) – a horrible stool, ugly non-slip bathroom mat and a shower divider not becoming of a hotel of this calibre. All the luxury toiletries in the world could not make up for the unrelaxing, fluorescent bathroom lighting and tiny, cramped spaces with not enough space for all your things. Performing circus-like acrobatics to take a piece of lavatory paper from an unreachable space should not be on your holiday need-to-do list either.

Not having slept much at all in the tiny bed, we asked them to change the linen (which they did - no improvement) fix the light in the bathroom (which they didn’t) and fix the bathroom door so it actually closed without having to slam it (which they didn’t – and we’re still waiting to hear why!)
Breakfast-wise, the buffet is ok but nothing special. The staff are friendly and attentive and the room is lovely, grand and has a special feel to it.

Staff-wise in general, the doormen could do with smiling a bit, reception don’t seem to know whether the Lisbon travelcard works on the buses and the concierge unhelpfully suggested the wrong bus number…

I cannot see how this is a five star hotel. Yes, the communal areas are grand, opulent and quite special, but faded grandeur springs to mind until the place gets an overhaul and the hiring of a jolly good housekeeper. Although we tried to make the best of it, ultimately we were disappointed with our stay there.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace. You recognize how grand our communal areas are, namely the breakfast room and the attentiveness of its staff.
As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of its guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we didn´t meet your expectations in all the aspects. Concerning our room décor, which you didn´t enjoy – as well as the marble covered bathroom - it can be seen on our website. It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.
I was also concerned to read your remarks about the Front Office issue, as the Avenida Palace, accordingly to its guest´s reviews and opinions, has got one of Lisbon´s best Concierge Service. Indeed all our team pledges to provide the best personal services to each of our guests.
With a prime location in the very centre of Lisbon, this Hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated is a symbol of our great city.
I would like to assure you of every attention should you give us another opportunity to stay with us again.
Yours sincerely,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Next to bus stop from airport, Rossio train station and Restauradores metro stop. When you step in you feel that you're in a real palace; nicely decorated huge halls and rooms with high ceilings.
Rooms were clean, comfortable and large enough for two. Breakfast was excellent with many choises.
As I mentioned Rossio train station is next to hotel and you can take a train to town of Sintra that worth visit.
Lisbon is one of the rare cheap European capitals. Don't hesitate to use taxi's for local transport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ENTsinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our location and services.
It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future and these time longer stay.
Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.
Yours sincerely,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

When booking this hotel do not expect the standard luxuries of modern 5 star hotels, instead expect to stay in a very unique place that transports you back in time...

We stayed at the Avenida Palace Hotel for 3 nights and had an overall very enjoyable stay. The hotel transports you back into another era of Lisbon and never departs from its flair. However, it does not lack modern amenities, although it could offer a few more facilities to make up for its star category (water kettle and tea in room for example).

We were on 2nd floor at first but asked for another room on the second day due to road noise and were immediately accommodated with a fourth floor room. Staff are generally friendly and very professional.

Breakfast buffet offers western and traditional Portugese specialities including a delicious sweet cinnamon milk rice! Do visit the bar and sit in the amazing old lounge and sip the reasonably cheap cocktail of the day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the 2nd floor otherwise the street noise does become a bother despite triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jai8_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments on our location and service.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Lisbon was our final stop in our 2+ weeks in Iberia. This was the best hotel for a grand finale to a great vacation. This hotel is lovely. It is filled with furnishings that match it's amazing grandeur. Every room, every staircase is perfect. The rooms and beds are comfortable. There are many big open common rooms. The breakfast room is light, open and the breakfast is delicious. Look nowhere else, stay here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments.
It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future and these time longer stay.
Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.
Yours sincerely,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent location, very central ,
Helpful staff but they need not to be so uptight and relax
Outdated rooms, bathroom will need to be upgraded with special attention to drainage
A bit upsetting not to have tea and coffee facility in the room
Breakfast was so average, not much variety

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mghattas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we did not meet your expectations and took note of your observations. Our guests’ comments are very important to us and allow us to improve our services.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

We do hope that you return to the Avenida Palace in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portugal
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing