We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm, Service and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old World Charm, Service and Comfort”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and it was everything we hoped it would be. Decorated in an older period style but with comfortable modern conveniences. The staff were extremely helpful especially the concierge. Buffet breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace. It was a real pleasure to read these lovely words following your last stay with us.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,146
    443
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
513
1,558
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We wanted a central spot for two nights to see as much as possible and were not disappointed. Helpful, old world and elegant with huge public rooms mostly deserted, effective free wifi, a comfortable room and tasty breakfast - most of all: attentive, polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us.

Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This old hotel is in the best lcation for tourists, walkable to really everything. As reviewers note, publc spaces are lovely. Rooms are fine, bathooms more than adequate and I have to say the water pressure in my shower was just fabulous. I had no view, but it was extremely quiet even on first floor ..windows are double paned. Breakfat was buffet, with good choices and breakfast servers attentive. One negative to otherwise good review...we didnt avail ourselves of concierge services often but one night I asked for fado restaurant reservation. though i saw the concierge write the information down, he apparently didnt make reservation....after taxing there, learned it was closed on mondays...concierge should have let me know of course.... there explains the difference between five star service and four.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traxnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding the Avenida Palace and its services. We were delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay and how much you valued our location.

We appreciate your remarks and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, we remain most apologetic for not providing you with an exceptional experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved this historic hotel in continuous use from the late 1800s with its high ceilings, gorgeous decorations, and friendly staff. Top location. Great included breakfast in a beautiful elegant ballroom type room with lovely chandeliers. Recommended. Love.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CaitCulinaryTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Avenida Palace. We also would like to thank you for your excellent feedback, we were delighted to read your review.

We look forward to your next visit to the Avenida Palace.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I must commend mgmt and the wonderful staff at this lovely property. Our kids were treated with love and respect by the staff who went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. Finding the hotel entrance with our vehicle was a little tricky (there is not a lot of room to park) but our rental was whisked away and parked for free. The breakfast was sumptuous and served in a palatial setting. My 6 year old daughter can't wait to come back to stay at this palace! Another lovely surprise was the concert in the lobby that we stumbled upon one evening. Our only regret is not having stayed longer in Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CzechCanadianChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to read how much you and your family enjoyed staying with us.

I am also thrilled to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our music recitals in our Palace Lounge.

I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future. Please forward a special "hello from the Avenida Palace" to your daughter.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

In the heart of Lisbon and easy walking distance to the central districts. Sumptuously decorated and very knowledgeable and helpful concierge who directed us to the restaurants tourists don't go to. Would wholeheartedly recommend and the teenage boys loved the breakfasts.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these fabulous words following your stay at the Avenida Palace. Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you and your family again in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location of the hotel could not be better: right in the center of town, next to Rossio train station. It is also in the corner of the main square in Lisbon; in the square is a train station, that, with a connection, goes to the airport (we took the train to get in and out of Lisbon). A short (steep) walk behind the hotel is the Barrio Alto shopping district, Chiado is right up the street, and downtown/the river is 5-6 blocks away. Tram stops are also a few short blocks away.

The breakfast was unreal, friendly staff gave helpful advice on glorious Lisbon, and we loved the old world opulence of our room. I couldn't get over the antique marble in the bathrooms, which had an almost Art Deco feel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition. Your kind remarks will be shared with the entire team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
569 reviews
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,510 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing