We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Classy fit for a Princess......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant, Classy fit for a Princess......”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Avenida Palace for 4 days. This hotel is absolutely amazing. It is well known and has been around for many years since the 1800's. I actually learned that royal families and influential European individuals were hotel guest at Avenida Palace. As well as a few movies were filmed at the hotel. This hotel has a rich history (ask for brochure on it). Aside from that the breakfast is fantastic ( a variety of food and drinks) set in a lovely dining room. The rooms are large considering it being Europe. The lobby and bar area are beautiful. I made reservations for tea in the lobby area (tea, pastries, tea sandwiches,etc) while listening to a pianist play on the grand piano. The stairwell of the hotel has beautiful art work and the sitting rooms across from the dining room are gorgeous. The staff goes out of their way to ensure that guests are comfortable and well taken care of. The internet service is fantastic ( I never had a problem). I booked directly through the hotel website and received a voucher for 20% drinks from the bar, etc. My room was upgraded which was plus (no extra cost). All transportation and monumental sites are not far from the hotel. The hotel is in the middle of everything needed for entertainment, shopping, food, nite life, etc. As a female traveler, traveling alone I felt safe and comfortable. I would definitely recommend Hotel Avenida Palace to other travelers. Thanks again to the staff at the hotel for making my trip to Lisbon memorable.

Room Tip: Book directly to the hotel (you get more perks).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starrnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff helped making your trip to Lisbon a memorable one. I will forward your comments to the entire team.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. You recognition is very much appreciated and a true source of motivation.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,169
    450
    83
    16
    9
See reviews for
528
1,572
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I had a hard time for rating this hotel as four instead of five. My only hesitation is the fact that the rooms are quite dated. This is my personal preference, i know many people love their interior.

The hotel sits right in the center of Lisbon. The location can not be better, walking distances to many major attractions and popular restaurants. Additionally, the hotel is built next to Rossio station (we did not hear any noise when the windows are closed), which is convenient for those who are interested in a day trip to Sintra. We used the airport shuttle bus to get to the hotel, the bus stop is about two-minute walk away.

The breakfast includes several quality options, we particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit ever mourning. The hall for dinning is beautiful as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you valued our location.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle USA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What an atmospheric place! My little daughter thought that we were in a royal palace for sure. The location is right in the heart of the lovely walking and shopping area. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom amenities nice. There are many delicious bakeries offering great coffee nearby but also a Starbucks right next to the hotel if you're not feeling adventurous. The train station is right next door as well. It's perfection. Breakfast is yummy with lots of options and served in the most beautiful ballroom. I would stay at Hotel Avenida Palace again anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the square are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a very good location in the city. Very high end hotel with a nice suite. Hotel restaurant was also very nice with good food. The staff was very polite and courteous. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you highly you valued our services. The fact that you found our staff polite and courteous will be a great source of motivation to them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was our second stay at this lovely hotel, and if something has changed: it is even better than ever! We like the glorious 19th century atmosphere, the big bedroom and well-appointed bathroom, the excellent breakfast with that wonderful choice of fresh fruit, the attentive and friendly service, the helpful advice of the reception......and we are sure to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace once again and for leaving your amazing remarks on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a delight to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back, for a third stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for four nights and from the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Having stayed all over the world, this hotel is exquisite and the staff professional to the core. Formal but not stuffy, it was a delight. The breakfast was in a grand room with chandeliers and had a nice mix of continental and hot items including lovely poached eggs, bacon, yoghurt, pastries, freshly baked bread and elegant service.

The hotel is centrally situated on avenida De liberedade next to two main squares and access to a range of shops, bars and restaurants as well as being next door to the train station. The hop on ho off buses leave nearby and the hotel is 10 minutes from the river and placa comercial where you can get the local tram to Belem which is well worth a visit. Be sure to use the funicular railway heading from the hotel towards marquess de pombal statue as it offers spectacular views over the city from the top.

The rooms are lovely and we had a lovely view over the square. Although it wasn't huge, it was extremely comfortable albeit very warm. The little bottle of port on our last night was a nice touch and the piano recitals in the lounge were so relaxing. Lisbon has a lot to offer and if you do happen to go there, then the Avenida Palace is an excellent choice. We loved it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lynncarr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

Your review is a true delight and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a high end base in the centre of Lisbon, the Avenida Palace is the place for you. Recently refurbished to its 19th century original glory, the bedrooms are large and well-appointed and the public rooms - restaurant, grand salon and bar are all excellent. The service was attentive and friendly. We were given a room upgrade to a Junior Suite on arrival and enjoyed the excellent breakfasts. We can recommend the Avenida highly. Less sure about Lisbon. Cheaper than Barcelona, but nowhere near as exciting. Atmospheric areas are few and far between and we searched in vain for a decent places for lunch or dinner. Like Barcelona every surface was daubed with ugly graffiti and 'street art', unlike Barcelona Lisbob lacks the world class architecture.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardandRosemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are very pleased to acknowledge how highly you valued your stay with us.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing