We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Avenida Palace
Nearby Hotels
$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
$251
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel(Lisbon)
$191
$141
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$302
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,040)
Filter reviews
3,040 results
Traveler rating
2,435
489
89
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,435
489
89
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand old hoteltrain stationbeautiful hoteljunior suitepublic roomsclassic hotelperfect locationthe hotel websiteconcierge staffbreakfast buffetfive star hotelbeautiful roomthree nightsrossio squarefresh fruitwould highly recommend this hotelthe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
1,479 - 1,484 of 3,040 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What an atmospheric place! My little daughter thought that we were in a royal palace for sure. The location is right in the heart of the lovely walking and shopping area. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom amenities nice. There are many delicious bakeries offering great coffee nearby but also a Starbucks right next to the hotel if you're not feeling adventurous. The train station is right next door as well. It's perfection. Breakfast is yummy with lots of options and served in the most beautiful ballroom. I would stay at Hotel Avenida Palace again anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the square are lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a very good location in the city. Very high end hotel with a nice suite. Hotel restaurant was also very nice with good food. The staff was very polite and courteous. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you highly you valued our services. The fact that you found our staff polite and courteous will be a great source of motivation to them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was our second stay at this lovely hotel, and if something has changed: it is even better than ever! We like the glorious 19th century atmosphere, the big bedroom and well-appointed bathroom, the excellent breakfast with that wonderful choice of fresh fruit, the attentive and friendly service, the helpful advice of the reception......and we are sure to come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace once again and for leaving your amazing remarks on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a delight to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back, for a third stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for four nights and from the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Having stayed all over the world, this hotel is exquisite and the staff professional to the core. Formal but not stuffy, it was a delight. The breakfast was in a grand room with chandeliers and had a nice mix of continental and hot items including lovely poached eggs, bacon, yoghurt, pastries, freshly baked bread and elegant service.

The hotel is centrally situated on avenida De liberedade next to two main squares and access to a range of shops, bars and restaurants as well as being next door to the train station. The hop on ho off buses leave nearby and the hotel is 10 minutes from the river and placa comercial where you can get the local tram to Belem which is well worth a visit. Be sure to use the funicular railway heading from the hotel towards marquess de pombal statue as it offers spectacular views over the city from the top.

The rooms are lovely and we had a lovely view over the square. Although it wasn't huge, it was extremely comfortable albeit very warm. The little bottle of port on our last night was a nice touch and the piano recitals in the lounge were so relaxing. Lisbon has a lot to offer and if you do happen to go there, then the Avenida Palace is an excellent choice. We loved it!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank lynncarr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

Your review is a true delight and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you are looking for a high end base in the centre of Lisbon, the Avenida Palace is the place for you. Recently refurbished to its 19th century original glory, the bedrooms are large and well-appointed and the public rooms - restaurant, grand salon and bar are all excellent. The service was attentive and friendly. We were given a room upgrade to a Junior Suite on arrival and enjoyed the excellent breakfasts. We can recommend the Avenida highly. Less sure about Lisbon. Cheaper than Barcelona, but nowhere near as exciting. Atmospheric areas are few and far between and we searched in vain for a decent places for lunch or dinner. Like Barcelona every surface was daubed with ugly graffiti and 'street art', unlike Barcelona Lisbob lacks the world class architecture.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank RichardandRosemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are very pleased to acknowledge how highly you valued your stay with us.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews