We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights late November 2013. We booked this hotel after read reviews and we are very happy we choose this one. The location is great. Train station and subway right outside the hotel. It is close to a lot main attractions. Hotel is very beautifully decorated and room was very nice and comfortable. The waiter at breakfast was really on top of things. Concierge was very informational and patient. They explained the hotel history which was really fascinating. Ask for the adding about the hotel. Highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingPanda26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read your wonderful review and we are pleased to know that we have met if not exceed your expectations.

The fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters is also very much appreciated.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,402 - 1,408 of 2,849 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

After reading tripadvisor's evaluations fortunately i've chosen this hotel.we were three my husband and my son, we stayed in a huge suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms,very good price and the best location near everything.good but unfortunately not very good. They should change industrialized juices for natural ones.concierge very nice .

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank pecinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. It was such a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The location is great; it's walking distance to old quarter and many interesting sites in Lisbon. We were quite excited when we saw the outside of the hotel; looked quite impressive. Hotel lobby was nice, although the entrance to the hotel was a bit obscure. The room was decently nice, although a letdown for us since we had just got off a Crystal Cruise where we had a luxurious suite and the Palace Hotel in Barcelona, where the room was quite a bit more luxurious. The bathroom sadly needs to be redone, although they did have a good supply of hot water (something you cant take for granted in Europe). The amenities were not great, so i was glad that i brought my own.

Breakfast was very nice, though. They serve it in a room with extremely high ceilings and had a nice choice of food. Plan for a leisurely breakfast in a nice setting. We had to rush to take a tour to Fatima and Obidos so didnt have time to enjoy the ambience.

So all in all, a decent place to spend the night, although not a must do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JellyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services. I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we were not able to meet all your expectations.

With a prime location in the very heart of Lisbon, the Avenida Palace, an independent hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

It is not my first visit at Avenida Palace Hotel. Every time the same feeling, the same dream of past years. European atmosphere in a silly globalized world. To come back as soon as possible. All the services, the staff, location, etc at top quality level. Very good quality/price rate.

Room Tip: Follow what the staff advices you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarioCostantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience with us. It was a pleasure to read your review about our Hotel and we are happy to know that have enjoyed your stay.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once more in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel with wonderful furnishings and decor. Breakfast was excellent. Our room was nicely done out, with very comfortable bed. One minor point was that the shower was unusable as antiquated (shower head adjustment impossible). However everything else was spot on, including brilliant location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about our location, décor and services.

Your positive comments have been passed onto all of our staff.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an amazing hotel, and reaches back to the age of elegance. As our excellent Suntours transfer taxi-man explained, this was the place where the great spy rings of WW2 gathered to plot and counter-plot. It still has much of the glamour of those days, with every modern convenience too. The main Saloon is an extraordinary vast room, with lovely furniture and a pleasant drinks menu attentively served. As others have noted, the breakfast buffet has everything one could possibly expect. Our rooms were 'not too large' but the beds were enormous and the bathroom was clean and 'had everything'. I would certainly stay here again if/when I return to this great city, and heartily recommend it to others. Apart from its own virtues, it is perfectly situated in the city centre and next door to the line for Sintra, which is an hallucination everyone should include in their Portugese holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked directly through their website and were happily rewarded with free sliced pineapple in our room. They repeatedly thanked us when we checked in for going through their website. The hotel is 1 block from the restaurandors blue line metro stop.

Hotel is in a good location and the breakfast spread was impressive. I was surprised how unpretentious this hotel felt.

Lots of storage space in the room. Rooms came with bathrobes and slippers too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our location and services and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
625 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
887 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,604 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $164 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing