We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 239 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed four nights in this beautiful hotel. We had booked a regular room and airpot pick-up on the hotels website. As we arrived early we did not expect to get our room imideatly but at the reception we were told that we were upgraded to a junior suite and it was ready for us. The suite was large and beautifully furnished. It consisted of a livingroom, a bedroom, a huge bathroom and a separate toiletroom with a shower. Beds were good, airconditioning working very well, and even though the hotel is in the middle of everything, we were not bothered by the traffic outside. Everything was very clean, and a small issue with the shower was fixed at once.
I dont think there is a more central place to stay in Lisbon. Almost everything is whitin walking distance, sights, shopping, restaurants and bars. You can even take the train to the beautiful town Sintra from the station next door.
Breakfast buffet was served in a magnificent room and contained of all you could ever want!
Avenida Palace hotel really lives up to its name. Staying there makes you feel like a queen! Thanks to all the friendly and helpful staff.
I am definitely going back to Lisbon and hotel Avenida Palace! Booking on the hotels website gives great value and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nina61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for your rewarding comments about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was thrilled to know that we were able to meet, if not exceed, your expectations.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and to know that this experience made you feel like a queen.

We also want to thank you for referring and recommending the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team. I will surely forward your thanks to all.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    366
    65
    13
    8
See reviews for
403
1,230
94
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very friendly welcome at check-in.
Clear and useful information about the hotel and surrounding area.
We stayed 4 nights in this old, very beautiful and comfortable hotel.
The breakfast is very varied and extremely well maintained.
We had a standard room and we enjoyed every comfort.
The whole staff was very friendly and helpful!!!
The location (in the center of the city) is perfect, but there is no noise due to traffic.
So we can say that its really a *****hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for the excellent rating on TripAdvisor .

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met your expectations. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel was very nice in every way. I had a massage one day and it was incredible as well. Very quiet and comfortable rooms. The staff was very helpful. At the end of my stay was a nice box of chocolates. What a treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrenwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We appreciate your comments on our location as well as on our staff, which you found to be so helpfull. I will forward on your comments to the team.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests in order to make the Avenida Palace feel like home.

We do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here on our last night in Portugal. Nice hotel. Our room was quite large, as was the modern bathroom. Very old world style, but updated. Easy walking distance to all Lisbon sights and to trolley that takes you to upper city with all the restaurants. Smoking is allowed in the lounge/bar, so the one turn-off for us was the smell of smoke throughout the registration area. Breakfast buffet was limited but good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services. I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't meet your expectations in this particular issue.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights in this beautiful, elegant, timeless hotel. Great location in the heart of downtown Lisbon, next to Restaurades metro station. Staff very helpful. Rooms spotless and charming. Great breakfast. Worth staying just for the stunning interior architecture and opulent decor and furnishings. Free, powerful wifi, complimentary mineral water in rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandrabarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace and for recommending us to other travelers.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once more at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having decided to visit Lisbon (for the fourth time) for our 40th wedding anniversary, we were in no doubt that for this occasion we wanted to stay in the Avenida Palace. It had the best possible location in the city centre, and represented our ideal mix of style and tradition with modern comforts.
We certainly made the right choice: the public areas are simply stunning and the same impressive décor and furnishings are reflected in the bedrooms - unlike some “palace” hotels where the bedroom wings simply don’t match up. We were very fortunate to be given a large suite, having booked a superior room directly through the hotel website. It faced Praça dos Restauradores with the impressive facades of the surrounding buildings, and featured a large double bedroom and very comfortable living room. The presentation of the room by the housekeeping staff each day was superb.
Breakfast is served buffet-style in a magnificent room, with all you could possibly want. The staff ensured that everything was just right, and I particularly liked the perfectly poached eggs on small slices of toast. The bar and lounge are sumptuous, and there’s a “cocktail of the day” which is great value – especially with the direct booking 20% discount.
The concierges were brilliant – friendly, knowledgeable and helpful – and they were ably assisted by the porters who seemed to have a taxi waiting almost before you’ve asked for one. We arranged our airport transfers and received great advice on restaurants in advance of our stay, which they were happy to book for us.
Great service was offered by everyone – friendly and helpful, never intrusive, always professional. Thanks to all for a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel website - upgrades will be given where available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PortugalForGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this truly memorable review and for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary. We were very happy to read that you we were able to meet your expectations during this special occasion.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests and are pleased when such effort is recognized. Your wonderful review will surely be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

We also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back very soon to your new Lisbon residence.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Nietos, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at Avenida Palace and were swiftly led into Hotel by attentive porters who also dealt with our (free) Parking. Hotel staff very polite and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, something for everyone. Our room was plenty big enough and, although it overlooked main road, was quiet. Free wifi now expected and provided by hotel. All in all, would recommend Avenida Palace and Lisboa to everyone! Many thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patsyp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave your kind remarks on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.4 mi away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 239 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
0.5 mi away
Britania Hotel
Britania Hotel
#3 of 239 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#2 of 239 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
1.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Bay Liberdade
Porto Bay Liberdade
#19 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing