We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A classic grand hotel right in the center of the action. We were pleasantly surprised that because we had booked through their website, we were upgraded into a junior suite. This is not the place to go for the new and hip-- it's the place that makes you feel like you're in a 1930s movie doing the grand tour. Also appreciated: double-paned glass on the windows kept the room silent at night, even above the busy Rossio square.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your kind comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to read how highly you valued our location.

Thank you very much for noticing the special complimentary benefits our clients get if they make their booking through our prize-winning website, which are listed in it, namely: room upgrade upon availability, complimentary bottle of mineral water in the room throughout their stay, discount on Bar spending, and fresh fruit cup on arrival.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,776)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,776 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel is extremely well located. I was very suprised and impressed to be in such a great historical building. Service was amazing. Staff was very qualified and very helpful. All the restaurant booked by the Hotel were amasing. Rooms are small though. Overall fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mimssbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members for your wonderful feedback.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good way to experience the atmosphere of a former palace converted into a historic hotel . Great location. Hotel is at the bottom of one of the main streets, Ave da Liberdade. The tram that takes you up the hill to the old part of Lisbon is just around the corner, the Bairro Alto. The lounge and bar area reminds you of a different era. The bar tender is very attentive and has lots of good information. Amenities are surprising modern. Breakfast is next to a grand reception room, worthy of some pictures.

Room Tip: my room faced the front which is on a side street, off the Ave da Liberdade. it was quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCL077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are delighted to acknowledge that you have enjoyed our location as well as our atmosphere.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful 3-day stay at The Avenida Palace. The rooms had the grand-scale elegance from another era -- but were well maintained in this era with attention to detail. The entire staff could not have been more gracious or helpful. The location was ideal for everything and quite (something my husband and I value highly). The continental breakfast is held in an elegant room on the second floor befitting a fine dining experience. The buffet was wonderful and complete -- beautifully displayed and with a well trained staff (as is the entire staff throughout the hotel). There was even a mini-piana concert several evenings from 7-7:30pm. All the public rooms were beautiful. It was 104 degrees while we were there, but the room was comfortably air conditioned. If we return to Lisbon, we will definitely return to The Avenida Palalce.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized. I will forward your comments to the team involved.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel has it all, great location, friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. It was a perfect stay. It is also a nice central location to see all the sights. It was a fun place for our group to stay for three days before our cruise.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank PoliceChief3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at the Avenida Palace.

It is a pleasure to read the way you value our service, rooms and location. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all our team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Avenida Palace is a testimony to the elegance of by-gone days. The public areas, bar (great bartender), restaurant were all just lovely and very grand. The rooms were comfortable, if a bit warm - (we were having quite a heat-wave while we were there), clean and each day we received a lovely little snack or beverage to enjoy - compliments of the staff. But let's face it - a hotel is only as good as its staff and let me tell you the staff at the Avenida was superb. The concierge went above and beyond to help me with an airline issue - gave us great recommendations for restaurants each night - and even sent one of the bellmen with us to make sure we found it. How's that for service. There is a reason that hotels get a Five Star rating and the Avenida definitely deserves it. Great location, great food. Stay there it's worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. It was such a pleasure to read this wonderful review and to acknowledge that your stay at the Avenida Palace lived up to your expectations.

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. This will represent a great source of motivation. I will surely forward your kudos to all the staff.

We hope to have the great honor of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful hotel. The room was lovely. The public areas were outstandin. The staff were exceptionally helpful. The location is fabulous. We only wished we had stayed here on a previous trip to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location and our décor.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
605 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 254 in Lisbon
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $173 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing