We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This has got to be the best place to stay in Portugal. Like stepping back to another more genteel era. Within walking distance to everything and the metro station almost outside the front door. Fabulous ambience throughout from restaurant, to lounge areas, to bar, to room. Concierge desk very helpful - everything done in great taste and style. Great value for money. Can't think of a single down side. Ola!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Jan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are delighted to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location as well as our ambiance.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,169
    450
    83
    16
    9
See reviews for
528
1,572
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Charming room in an elegant old hotel. Great, central location with easy access to all the central Lisbon attractions. We stayed here one night only last March and wished we could have stayed longer. The very, very nice buffet breakfast in the beautiful dining room was included with our room. Very clean, comfortable and safe. Helpful concierge service.

Room Tip: A front view of the squares is fun, but might be noisy -- but we didn't have any problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased with your comments on our staff, service and location. We were also pleased with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all parameters.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed as couple for 2 nights in january in a superior twin room
As everyone has said it is a fantasic old world style hotel.
The location is excellent for walking around town.
Staff were very helpful and breakfast buffet great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank T1NT1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We appreciate your comments on our location as well as on our staff. I will forward on your comments to the team.

We do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk,belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful elegant hotel,in the middle of Lisboa's old centre.
Excellent breakfast-buffet,very helpfuk staff,the room and bathroom have everything you need.
Metro and bus just around the corner,taxi available within a minute.
First class old world elegance,even a classical music-recital the sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AliceGenk_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you valued our location as well as our services.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is located in a very touristic zone, which make it a great choice for traveller that don'twant to have a car in Lisbon. It offers a great service with good infrastructure and rooms with great style. You can feel as you are in XVIII century palace.
Basically you can go to the most of points of interest by walking. In this case you can disfrute a lot of options of restaurant in Chiado and Bairro Alto without to worry about drive a car or use a taxi service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank anascimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you chose the Avenida Palace during your trip to Lisbon. We were pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location as well as our services and décor.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay in the Avenida Palace hotel in Lisbon was nothing short of magical. This is the place to go to experience first class old world elegance. Their renovation is very well done preserving the 19th century look and feeling. High ceilings, marble floors in the hallways inlaid with custom carpets. While we were there they had a series of free concerts in a large and stunning room. Our favorite was the fado night. We experienced the best of the singers without having to leave our cozy home in the hotel. Everyone we dealt with is both proud to be associated with this hotel and kind and helpful. Breakfast is served in a beautiful room, and is a large assortment of everything you could want. They bake their own delicious rolls, which were still warm from the oven. You will have a wonderful and relaxing stay at an excellent price for such luxury..

Room Tip: We were a family of three traveling together and we had a junior suite. This worked very well for us...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank belinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

We were also very pleased to know that you had the opportunity to attend our Christmas Program.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you and your family again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We knew our stay here would be perfect as soon as we arrived and a very friendly staff opened glass doors to the most opulent and beautiful lobby we have seen in our travels.

We spent a few very relaxing days here and the ambience of the hotel added to the magic of Lisbon.

This hotel is so beautiful, we loved looking around at the elegant furnishings. The rooms are so beautifully decorated.

The location is perfect, central and within walking distance of transport and some great sights.

We traveled throughout Europe staying in many hotels but the Avenida Palace was outstanding and a hotel we will remember for a very very long time.

I really hope we get to stay again, we recommend it to anyone we know traveling to the amazing country of Portugal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these wonderful words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have valued our décor, ambience and location.
It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

Your kind words will be a great source of motivation to the entire staff.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing