We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Beautiful old world hotel in central Lisbon. Easy walk to just about everything. HRC just up the street. Great staff. Quiet room even in the front. Generous included breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank biglindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about our location, facilities and services.

Your positive comments have been passed onto all of our staff.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    438
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
507
1,523
123
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I think there are many good hotel in Lisbon, but…. I spent 3 days looking for the hotel. And finally I’ve got the best. From the beginning and to the end everything was perfect. We had a room with courtyard view ( no view), but it was always quiet – no cars, no any sound. Our room was so nice, fresh, renovated with an old furniture. The bed was old too but not squeaky and not shaky. Very comfortable to sleep.
Hotel staff was always useful and nice. There was a very good breakfast for adults and children. The building is especially beautiful, it looks like a museum. I think this hotel is the best for travelers who likes an old Europe. And location – you get everywhere very easy . There is a public bus stop, tour buses, metro….. just in 1-2 minutes from the hotel. And you can walk in a center city and easy get back to the hotel. This vacation was very good for our family partially thanks to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Octobernew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these remarks on TripAdvisor.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, we were very pleased to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

We were also very pleased to read that you valued our location as well as our services and décor.

I do hope that The Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Arrived here late at night. Got a taxi voucher at the airport, which fixes the price for you, this ends up being more expensive than the most honest driver, but much cheaper than some of the ' rip offs'. On arrival entered a beautiful lobby. The staff were helpful and check-in was quick. The room was spacious with high ceilings, lots of storage and a lovely bathroom. After a very comfortable night's sleep and a great breakfast in elegant surroundings. The hotel is in a brilliant location, so were able to walk to most places.It is next door to Rossio Station, making a visit to Sintra very easy The staff were very helpful making reservations for us and organising a taxi back to the airport. Even had chocolates in our room every day after it had been cleaned !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NVLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, we were very pleased to read that we have exceeded your expectations.
We were also very pleased to read your kind words about our décor and staff. We will share your kind remarks with them.

It would be a great honour to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 and were very impressed. Check in and out was easy, and the staff were always very friendly and helpful. You feel that they do actually enjoy working there! The breakfast room was delightfully ornate with chandeliers, and the breakfast itself was fantastic - just really good quality food and attentive staff. Our room was fine, not the biggest, but definitely worked for us. The location is fantastic too, so much within walking distance and the station and metro are close by if you want to venture further afield. Highly recommend this one, would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank horo_kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are delighted to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed our team pledges to provide the best personal services to each of our guests and we are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized. We were also very pleased with your kind comments on our décor services and location.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan, usa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel May 3-5.

City Center hotels do not get much better than the Hotel Avenida Palace. It starts with the doorman assisting you with luggage and getting your car parked. A painless check-in and concierge service available. This hotel is one of the grand hotels from a previous era when decor and service meant something.

If you are a mordenistic person who demands all the latest technical gadgets and believes anything more than a year old is ancient, you probably will need to find another place or stay and learn what a hotel should be. The public areas were graceful and immaculate. The room was French Provincial. Ours had two single beds and they were comfortable.

Breakfast, parking, and internet were included in my rate. That combination made my overall rate a good value, especially considering the service and decor level of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was great including fruits, crepes, yogurt, breads, cheeses, eggs, etc.

The location was also great and near two major plazas with transportation a short walk away.

OK, for the one downside. If you need a work area for your computer or just to carry on business, the one provided was small and not real comfortable. The internet was fine and was wireless in the room. Also please note as you approach from the north and see the big sign with the hotel name on the building, that is not the entrance. Keeping going towards the other side of the building and the entrance is there where it has a Parking (private) sign in a driveway.


A grand lady from the way hotels used to be. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ldwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor. It was such a pleasure to read this wonderful review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel and especially for our décor and services is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

We hope to have the great honour of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent four days in Lisbon last Easter and we were delighted with this hotel. Opera in the lobby, Easter chocolates and other nice things in our room. A very good location. Our room had a very nice view. We definitely recommend the Avenida Palace.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank portusinvictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed at this lovely hotel in the beginning of March. Good location close to Lisbon central sights. So much is within walking distance. Warm friendly staff. My room was clean, comfortable and just lovely. Loved the Breakfast Room and the breakfast quality and variety.
Love, love this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 246 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 246 in Lisbon
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 246 in Lisbon
798 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 246 in Lisbon
1,014 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing