We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #212 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The location of this hotel could not have been better. Right on the main square - close to restaurants and shops - also close to tours. The staff was friendly and knew Lisbon well. Buffet for breakfast was an additional benefit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbkeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 348 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked a king superiour room, which was not availble for us so were given a choice of double or single. We chose single, (wrong!) the room was small and since it was paid by voucher, we are now hoping for a refund. Problem was that the person behind the desk did not inform us that this was not a superior room. When we went to complain, he said all the rooms were booked. But really I can't imagine that the superiour room would be updated. The entire hotel is in serious need of refurbishing. think Hotel 6 or worse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Summerfall14580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was hands down, the greatest location!!!! Service was so helpful!!!! Street noise got pretty loud at times, but we brought ear plugs....

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beets11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon and had high hopes, in some ways we weren't disappointed, the view and location was fantastic, the room light and airy with a comfortable bed and we received what was included in our 'romantic double room' package which was a bottle of bubbly and some chocolates. The downstairs area was also nice around the lobby with big comfy sofas and nice decor, also free internet on a computer available for use, even if it was a really old computer! Service was ok and the best part was helpful advice on tourist attractions and transport. I think overall though we felt that we had paid an awful lot of money (193 euros per night) and it missed special touches, or touches that would make you feel as a guest that the hotel was making an effort and not just banking on its location, view and good history for guaranteed income. This was compounded by the hotel dropping its room price dramatically a month before our trip date (50 euros per night cheaper and over 4 nights this would have made a big difference!) I suppose we could have cancelled and re-booked but you don't want to take risks with a honeymoon. Ok so not so good points: The decor was understandably old fashioned which was great but there was enough cheap 80-90's furniture/decoration that didn't have character and let the room down, stained curtains etc. The bathroom was ok but again, cheap products and items in there and is there really a need for glass bathroom doors? It was bubble glass but still a bit annoying! Breakfast was adequate but not a lot of choice or quality. So overall I'd say if you can get a good deal here and can haggle and know that it isn't amazing its quite a nice place to stay. We had some of the best rooms (we stayed on our first night away and last 3) 301 and 501 in particular was quieter with double glazing. Otherwise a bit of an investment from the hotel at adding a few new, nice touches to the room (curtains, lampshades, anything) would make someone paying a lot of money a bit happier!

Room Tip: 501 and 301 have excellent views. 501 was quieter and a bit nicer
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cloudnine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Good location, breaksfast superior. Safe. Clean. Good staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sactoslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights for sightseeing trip. Location is as good as you can get for this purpose. It was good to be able to go back to hotel during the day without wasting too much time. Its not a chain hotel so don't expect brand new furniture - but I think that is part of the charm. Rossio square has a few dodgy characters wondering around so if easily scared maybe not the best place but it never bothered us. I was offered drugs literally as soon as I got off airport bus - but a simple "No thanks" got rid of them. Oddly is feels safer at night than during the day. Very nice breakfast room and good food too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrRetsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Lisbon, probably situated in the the best possible area.
The hotel itself was poor. Very basic rooms in desperate need of updating. There were holes in our wardrobe and the water from the taps didn't work too well. The decor was very old, wooden bed, wooden furniture with flaking paint. The room was not comfortable at all.
Such a shame as with a bit of an update it could be a very nice hotel being in such a central area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 254 in Lisbon
1,236 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo
Lisboa Tejo
#136 of 254 in Lisbon
627 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#81 of 254 in Lisbon
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#10 of 254 in Lisbon
634 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#59 of 254 in Lisbon
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV, Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $125 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing