We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For children and teenagers, a must in Lisbon”
Review of Lisbon Oceanarium

Lisbon Oceanarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.54*
and up
Private Day Trip Visiting Lisbon from West to East
More Info
$56.90*
and up
Lisbon Half Day Discovery Private Tour
More Info
$330.74*
and up
Lisbon Highlights Full-Day Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 427 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1998, the Oceanário was the centerpiece of the XXth Century's last World Fair, themed "The Oceans, a Heritage for the Future", and eternally binds Lisbon to the Oceans.MissionThe Oceanário’s mission is to promote knowledge of the oceans and bring up the public about the duty of protecting natural heritage, through changing their daily habits.While walking through impressive and unforgettable exhibits, visitors are encouraged to learn fascinating things about the oceans and, more importantly, how to make decisions in their daily lives that actively promote the conservation of nature.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“For children and teenagers, a must in Lisbon”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you travel with children or young teenagers, this can be a highlight of your trip. Versatile ocean's creatures are presented here in a small and well-organized place. It's definitely worth to put 3-4 hours for this activity. The level and depth of provided info are good, and watching sunfishes, several types of sharks and devil fishes (amongst others), swimming in one large tank is really astonishing (if it's your first time).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,796
    7,512
    1,881
    301
    100
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Didn't know what to expect when going, but was really glad I ventured here. The building itself is unique, but the surprise is when you walk in. There is a HUGE tank in the middle of the building with a variety of fish. Then as you walk around the, on two different floors, you get so see some great wildlife including puffins and penguins. Take metro over there, well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely informative experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent. Some parts quite dark and a lot of people just take pictures and move onto the next thing without reading anything. Sea turtles exhibition was fascinating.

There are a lot of children running around and the occasional ignorant tourist taking pictures with flash (not allowed) but you can't fault Oceanário for that.

Overall a brilliant experience that was really informative

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David8729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic Oceanario”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Oceanario was good but not great one if you have seen many of those. Best parts of the Oceanario was the giant turtle exhibition. it was truly great and interesting! Could have been more of that. Other parts of the oceanario was also good, but we got a little bit bored... Good place to visit with children. A bit too expensive tickets for my point of view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Really Zen Experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Parque das Nações area and had a couple of hours of free time. We decided to walk along the waterfront and then take the gondola to the Oceanario. We were going to spend a hour maybe too at the aquarium but it draws you in. It's so large with so many different types of fish. I couldn't help but think how much my nephews would have enjoyed going.

As two adults the aquarium is really amazing and completely worth going to. It was so relaxing and I think had I been more jetlagged I could have fallen asleep watching the fish.

One of the more amazing thing was the constant reminder of conservation of both the ocean and the fish who live there. Considering the overfishing, particularly cod, it was great to see the education about the impacts of not being conscience of what we are doing to our oceans.

Only drawback is that it's a bit out of the way but I think worth the metro ride.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura15347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Oceanarium also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Oceanarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing