We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to go with children...”

Castelo de S. Jorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.68*
and up
Private Tour: Customize Your Perfect Day in Lisbon
More Info
$70.53*
and up
Small-Group Lisbon Sightseeing Tour by Segway with Food Tastings
More Info
$21.52*
and up
Old Lisbon: Alfama and São Jorge neighbours 3-Hour Walking Tour
Ranked #19 of 430 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open 7 days a week, Castelo de S. Jorge is now a place where you can enjoy our heritage, get to know a little about Lisboa’s History at the Permanent Exhibition, explore the traces of the Moorish neighbourhood dating back from the 11th century at the Archaeological Site, discover yet unseen sights over the city on the Camera Obscura, stroll across the gardens and the belvederes, take a break at the Cafe do Castelo, participate of the guided tours or other didactical activities, or simply be enchanted by music, theatre, dancing and the talk shops on heritage that liven up your days at this remarkable Monument in Lisboa.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
São José do Rio Preto, Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing place to go with children...”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The building is not the real old one, but it looks like an old castle. Beyond that, it was built on the same place where we had a muslim fortress and, after that, a portuguese fortress and real castle. The place is very beautiful. Kids were astonished about the place. This is a must see...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,414
    6,885
    2,613
    517
    148
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, well worth the climb”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wear sensible shoes if you're planning to visit the castle - between the climb up to the castle and the steps to go up and down the walls, this is not a tour for stillettos. The grounds outside of the castle walls are beautifully shaded and breezy, and offer magnificent views of the city. The cafe is small but reasonably priced and has small tables outside where peacocks roam looking for handouts. We had a really nice morning and took over a hundred photos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizBTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“well worth the visit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We used the tram from Jeronimos Monastery to reach a square walking distance from the Castle. However, we chose taking another tram up the very steep hill to get us closer. The visit was well worth the time. We had spectacular views and there is quite a lot to see. It appears that they also have concerts at the castle and we hope to someday attend one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank budgettraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We tried to follow a guided walk up through Alfama, and got lost, but that was part of the fun. It was well worth the climb as the views were fantastic and by paying the low entrance fee we were able to escape the crowds and relax on the ramparts. My partner loved the battlements which aren't for those who have a fear of heights; or those who don't yet realise they have a fear of heights! The castle is home to many cats who are fed by the restaurant after closing time, they are friendly and will enjoy a fuss.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible views of the city, but beware the climb”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are on a tour, buses cannot make it to the top, so you have to climb 20 minutes up a steep cobblestone street. One lady in our group was wearing heels and not having fun. Some of the older members of the group struggled also.

But once we made it, the views of Lisbon and the Tagus River were absolutely amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigRedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo de S. Jorge also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Castelo de S. Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing