We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing site to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo de Sao Jorge

Castelo de Sao Jorge
Book In Advance
$62.87*
and up
Lisbon Private Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #21 of 396 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the historic Alfama district, this brooding Moorish castle dominates the city from its vantage point atop Lisbon's highest hill.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing site to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really nice place to see, especially when weather is good. Nice views over whole Lisbon. It took us more that 3 hours to went through whole areal of the castle. I really reccomand periscore (in price of basic admission which is 7,50 EUR) - it took cca 30 mins and we sam every part od Lisbon. Castle is easy accesible via tram 28 or bus from Praca de Figueira.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,914
    4,976
    1,923
    370
    97
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great View of Lisbon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Castelo de S. Jorge is one of those "must see touristic stops" in Lisbon. My reviews are always biased by the fact that I have small children and of course I'm influenced by their experience at the place as well as mine. I think if I was traveling just with my husband, I would've given this attraction a "very good" rating, but with my twin toddlers tagging along, I have to give it a "good" review. The reason why it's because it has a lot of dangerous spots for small children, so one has to be very attentive at all times, which ends up impacting your own experience. Neverthless, my girls had a good time, lots of space for them to run. There is also a museum and the views of Lisbon are beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cecik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Interesting Castle with Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very interesting castle with lovely city and sea views. Good English information. Bit of a hike up from the city so use the tram or bus. Find the nice port shop nearby for refreshments!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Castelo de Sao Jorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Interesting castle. Lots to see and do. Nice period building. Lots of sightseers the day we were there and a line up to get in but it moved swiftly and we are on our way in no time. Better shopping the farther you get away from the castle. A lot of the same items but cheaper. Also found a great jewellery shop near our hotel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank chicklet67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It was a nice walk up to the castle (beware lots of stairs, but very manageable if you're fit) through the old tiled houses and narrow lanes. The highlight of the castle was the awesome view of Lisbon and walking through the old castle walls.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo de Sao Jorge also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Castelo de Sao Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing