We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO- JUDGE FOR YOURSELF” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museu da Fundacao Calouste Gulbenkian

Museu da Fundacao Calouste Gulbenkian
Avenida de Berna, 45a | Praça de Espanha, 1050, Lisbon 1067-001, Portugal
+351 21 782 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$20*
and up
Ranked #3 of 338 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Gulbenkian complex features a museum that houses a magnificent private collection of Persian art, Egyptian sculptures, and paintings by the Old Masters. Calouste Gulbenkian's collection of paintings includes works by Bouts, Van de Weyden, Lochner, Cima de Conegliano, Carpaccio, Rubens, Van Dyck, Frans Hals, Rembrandt, Guardi, Gainsborough, Romney, Lawrence, Fragonard, Corot, Renoir, Nattier, Boucher, Manet, Degas and Monet. A favourite sculpture of his was the marble original of Houdon's famous Diana, which had belonged to Catherine of Russia and which Gulbenkian purchased from the Hermitage Museum in 1930.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GO- JUDGE FOR YOURSELF”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a very nice museum with items displayed in a roomy manner. However to me it's just another museum . I guess I just don't appreciate history and art as much as I should. Go-give it a try and judge for yourself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank betlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
482 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Go to Lisbon just for the Gulbenkian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a treasure trove of art, artifacts and other collectibles from all over the world. Spend a day here, the gardens are also incredible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard13071964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but Wasn't Wowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Don't get me wrong—this is a very nice museum, and I very much enjoyed one of the temporary exhibits there. But I read so many reviews that said it was one of Europe's best museums, that I was a little disappointed. This is not on a par with Europe's best museums like the Prado or the D'Orsay or even the two small Picasso museums in Paris and Barcelona. I much more enjoyed Lisbon's smaller, more intimate Tile and Fado Museums. If I only had a few days in Lisbon, I would skip this. If you have five days or more, knock yourself out!

P.S. They have a pretty good cafe with a nice patio.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adseldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“superb collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

the best and only the best. amazing collection of art treasures of amazing quality spanning 4,500 years in time. the japanese inzo boxes alone are worth visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kees s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
201 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“2 hours well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Smaller than I expected (it only took me 2 hours to go around and I am normally slower than most as I do take my time – if you tend to whizz around these sorts of places you might do it in an hour) but really good. Not the kind of stuff you’d expect one man to collect, more the stuff a national museum would. Loads of top artists are included such as Rembrandt, Rubens, Monet, Manet & Turner. The Lalique collection is small but beautiful. Very fine furniture and ancient artifacts from different regions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ooo-boogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu da Fundacao Calouste Gulbenkian also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Museu da Fundacao Calouste Gulbenkian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#