We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Calouste Gulbenkian Museum - Founder's Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.43*
and up
City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #5 of 414 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Gulbenkian complex features a museum that houses a magnificent private collection of Persian art, Egyptian sculptures, and paintings by the Old Masters. Calouste Gulbenkian's collection of paintings includes works by Bouts, Van de Weyden, Lochner, Cima de Conegliano, Carpaccio, Rubens, Van Dyck, Frans Hals, Rembrandt, Guardi, Gainsborough, Romney, Lawrence, Fragonard, Corot, Renoir, Nattier, Boucher, Manet, Degas and Monet. A favourite sculpture of his was the marble original of Houdon's famous Diana, which had belonged to Catherine of Russia and which Gulbenkian purchased from the Hermitage Museum in 1930.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

You will be surprised to see many great works of art here: Renoir, Monet, Manet among others. You'll also see some Egyptian artefacts, a wonderful collection of tiles, Persian and Chinese art. There's also an impressive collection of Rococo furniture. The entrance fee is very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teodora21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,298
    1,464
    294
    45
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible tiles and carpets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I am a carpet and tile junkie. I was so overcome by the beauty of the Persian, Turkish, Syrian and Indian tiles and carpets it bought a tear to my eyes. A lot of earlier tiles 15-16 th century, which are obviously hard to come by and very rare. I've not seen a collection like this before.

Beautifully laid out. Did not get audio guide,but would have been a good idea as very little description of each item other than the title and date.

Rest of the museum was good too, Egyptian, Chinese, paintings.

Got around in 1 hour, as I was on a schedule. Go! Even if you have less time. Not to be missed. Better than the National Tile Museum in my view, but I like the more intricate tiles, and less of the pictorial style.

Taxis are also very easy to get, not like back from the Tile Museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“For contemporary art lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is a very good museum. You will be surprised by their own collection and also you can visit seasonal exhibitions. They have a good library where you can buy good books.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArturVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

What an astounding collection of art, jewellery, archeological finds, manuscripts, orgnaments, furniture etc etc. this was one of the best things about Lisbon for me. The surrounding garden is very lovely to wander in too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LolaTS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
1,068 reviews
368 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Jewel of a museum. Beautiful modern building in a park-like campus-like setting with wifi. Only four euros and likely two if you are 66. Specific highlights for me were the art nouveau mirror, Parisian silver service wear, Lalique jewels to wear, Turkish pottery, Japanese boxes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calouste Gulbenkian Museum - Founder's Collection also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Calouste Gulbenkian Museum - Founder's Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing