We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calouste Gulbenkian Museum - Founder's Collection
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Calouste Gulbenkian Museum - Founder's Collection
from $11.50
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
Reviews (7,782)
Filter reviews
3,239 results
Traveler rating
2,362
674
163
32
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,362
674
163
32
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ancient egypt european art rene lalique lalique jewellery french furniture lalique room greco roman art lovers works of art beautiful park audio guide couple of hours rainy day monet turner rugs exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,239 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

It happens not often to find somebody who had money and a good taste for art. And then to give it to Lisbon for public display is even rarer. Seeing the permanent exposition of Gulbenkian is the prime example of all the 3 ingredients. One admires continuously the beauty of collected items and wonders: what did man did not collect? Exhibits from ancient to modern time - all jewels. Best museum/art experience in Portugal (and we have seen a lot).

Thank Janoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

The permanent collection has to be seeen to be believed. Can one imagine Callouste to prowl the rooms searching for mood to enjoy the European painting, perhaps the Persian, the Chinese art...? It is the result of one man collecting these exhibits that stuns the mind.

Thank Andrej Matija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

1 museum is arte moderne and other permanent collection.
Visited Perm.Collectn only.
Very large with many antiques incuding Oil paintings, chinese ceramics french furniture and super embroderiery.

Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My second visit to this museum. Took my husband who had not been there. Several collections. Beautiful grounds. Worth a visit.

Thank Gottago1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This institution made more for culture in Portugal than all Ministeries put together. It was - still is - the ultimate bearer of fine arts, decade after decade, cultivating higher civilizational values through culture, never compromising. Pure excellence.

1  Thank JorgeMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

After seeing so many castles on this visit, we decided to see this museum. We are so glad we did! The paintings, sculpture, ceramics, jade, furniture were incredible. The grounds are also lovely. Can't believe that one person owned so much beauty!

1  Thank jscw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The gallery/museum has many different disolays at any time, so there is normally something for everyone. Many valuable and well known exhibits whilst I was there. I would go again as well, because it will no doubt have changed.

Thank gozz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not only is the permanent collection of the Gulbenkian of very high quality, offering something interesting for different tastes, but the building itself and the surrounding garden are a must as well! Don't miss this.

Thank LucVanBogaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This foundation is a treasure of great pieces of different arts. Coins, carpets, famous paintings from different periods, furniture mainly from France, clocks, Chinese porcelaines, Japanese netsukes, sculptures, jewels and objects from Lalique... We were amazed and the guided tour was interesting and informative. A very good cafeteria witha terrace in a part of the lush garden surrounding the museum is excellent and affordable. A moment of peace and elevation.

Thank Christiane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

0n a warm prerty day we walked to the museum from Marques de Pombal, through the park. The museum was nice but the surprise was the grounds which were large and beautiful. And museum entrance is free Sundays after 2 PM.

Thank san s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews