We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Bairro Alto
Lisbon Pub Crawl
27 Reviews
from $17.30
More Info
from $20.17
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
from $46.70
More Info
Reviews (11,444)
Filter reviews
3,360 results
Traveler rating
1,920
1,125
219
64
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,920
1,125
219
64
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night life great nightlife narrow streets comes alive at night every corner fado music old lisbon walk around neighborhood city district graffiti tram tourists stroll elevator portuguese
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,360 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We came here on our last night, after hearing it was the place to be. We also heard 1 euro a drink so thought we would try a few. This area seemed to be the place for a 'traditional' Fado. Lots of restaurants that were all busy and of course lots of bars. We were given plastic glasses in the first bar and told we were fine to walk the streets! We didnt manage to get any 1E beers (cos we drank something different) I did get a Sangria for 1.5E and it was great.

Thank gbh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This is a super area to visit and stay a night or weekend. Lots of bars and restaurants. Not the most child friendly area just because there are narrow streets and side walks.

Thank SerahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Very cool neighborhood where a lot of locals hang out for dinner! Try local dishes like bacalhau a bras and pasteis de belem. Wash it down with a glass of port/ginjinha.

Thank UDCAKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

You can walk up to Bairro Alto or take a trolley (the elevador da Gloria) from the Plaza de Restauradores where the obelisk is. Worth a visit because of the quaint cobble stone streets and 16 th century buildings some with colorful tiles. Now it is filled with small work shops and very affordable restaurants. There is a plaza called the Miradouro de Sao Pedro de Alcantara near the trolley stop with an excellent view of the Castelo de San Jorge.

Thank jamusaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A very active, alive area with good restaurant s and shopping. Transportation is readily available with trams, Uber and taxi.

Thank ruthk125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

If you have any mobility issues you will not have an easy time in the Bairro Alto. We are seniors that are reasonably healthy and were able to enjoy this hilly area of Lisbon.
We spent most of our time enjoying the tiled buildings and being in a neighborhood that is authentic in the sense that we took pictures of everyday life (hanging of lots of laundry out apartment windows).

1  Thank wwjd1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stayed in this neighborhood - recommend it as walking distance to most of the main sights around old Lisbon. The buildings are so beautiful with the tiles. Can walk to Praca do Comercio and St. Justin's elevator (get there early to avoid lines). Lots of restaurants and bars.

Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The area is really beautiful with old houses and stone streets. The real European charm. The only issue we saw was that they allow cars in such narrow streets.

Thank jesust885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Firstly the area is hard to reach with much hill climbing on cobblestone roads. The restaurants offer basic fare at best. Most are not open until late. It is area for young adult looking to party.

Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great Lisbon neighborhood with meandering streets and lots of local shops and restaurants. It has the feel of a locals area with some of the more popular tourist spots scattered within. Check out the "elevador" for some nice views.

Thank TravelingNAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews