We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent quarter with a lot of slopes.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.38*
and up
Lisbon Pub Crawl
Ranked #11 of 422 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,661 reviews
2,243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,036 helpful votes
“A decent quarter with a lot of slopes.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This nice quarter is located on a hilltop, which you will soon enough find rather annoying, as walking the streets gets quite physical in some of the slopes.
It is considered to be a picturesque part of town, but we found it to be rather ordinary, yet not exceptional.
Avoid visiting this quarter on a rainy day, as you will undoubtedly slip on one of the many, many slopes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,772
    3,416
    675
    122
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our coach guide recommended that if we wanted an adventure during our afternoon in Lisbon that we should take a tram up to the Bairro Alto, which is just what we did and it was great fun. A short ride up the steep hill in our rickety old tram, a great lunch in the Pois cafe (what a find) and a slow walk back up to the top for coffee and Lisbon egg custard cakes and for taking in the view over the bay - a blissful 3 hours well spent!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cymru-Bagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for Strolling , have a Meal and do some Shopping!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Bairro Alto is one of Lisbon's oldest neighbourhood. It has been recently renovated so it looks pretty good! There are lots of good restaurants there , for all range prices , and interesting stores to visit. If you go to Chiado I recommend you to go there. At night its a great spot to go out , lots of bars and also Fado houses.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much fun!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Came out to the Bairro Alto neighborhood with a friend while staying in Lisbon and could not have been happier with our experience. Such a fun lively atmosphere where you can meet all types of people. Every bar is different in its own way, and don't judge a book by its cover the bar may look really small from the outside but go in a lot of times there are basements with a large disco going on. If you are looking for a fun night out in Lisbon then I would definitely recommend going here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Such a fun neighborhood. Great restaurants and nightlife. Take some time to explore...you'll find a great music and bar scene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FancyNancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing