We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiguous place”
Review of Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.08*
and up
Lisbon Pub Crawl
Ranked #12 of 425 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ambiguous place”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is very ambiguous for me and my wife. It is old and narrow and located on hills. We went there using the tram #28 and then were going by foot through its streets. The buildings are old and poor but there are very beautiful ones. And the nice thing is that every house has a ceramic plate with number. Trams go using the same track in both directions and only on some crossroads they have 2 lines to let each other go further. Interesting place to walk.
The best is to walk without any guide.. just to see how it is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,940
    3,541
    694
    125
    74
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a great neighborhood recommended to us by our guide. Accessible by funicular and cabs. Lively neighborhood with lots of fun bars, music, Fado clubs. Great area for young and young at heart.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for Going Out!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Huge Bar & restaurants options here, from cosy to typical, from fusion to traditional, just select wat you prefer! Fado, rock, pop...the Night IS Bairro Alto!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PierreBeLg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go to the bars, skip the food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The clubs are a riot, lots of strange personalities and a lot of fun. Very chilled out. But BEWARE!! We sat down at a little eatery on some steps for a quick midnight feed and were shocked to be charged 75 euro... all the 'complimentary' items they gave us when we turned up added 8 euro to the bill.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evenings in the Bairro Alto”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

During the day you'd be forgiven for wondering what all the fuss is about. The Bairro Alto is a tangled maze of narrow, cobbled alleways with shuttered shops covered in graffiti and hardly a soul to be seen.
As soon as the evening commences bars and restaurants throw open their doors (though some bars do not open until much later).
We had four nights in Lisbon and the first of them we spent in Chiado, however the remaining three nights we ate and drank in the Biarro Alto. We are both in our mid-fifties and were a little concerned that we'd feel totally out of place. Yes, the Bairro Alto attracts a lot of younger people who stay out until the early hours, but it also welcomes "oldies" such as us. If you can find a table and chairs outside all the better, but most people stand, lean and prop themselves up against the walls. Everyone chats to each other and the whole area had a buzz about it.
Probably bececause of our age we were never approached or offered drugs and did not see any evidence of this going on. The whole area felt completely safe and everyone was good-natured and friendly.
We had three wonderful dinners - one in a traditional restaurant, and the other two in an Indian restaurant - all were reasonably priced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing