We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal In Lisbon”
Review of Rubro Avenida

Rubro Avenida
Ranked #320 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Best Meal In Lisbon”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Brtiania in Lisbon and this restaurant is just a few doors away. What a find! The service was most attentive and the wine list fantastic. We had a lovely bottle of Portugese wine and it was only 17.50 euros. Unbeatable value. We decided to opt for a selection of small plates for dinner and enjoyed the deep fried baby squid, arugula salad with apples, octopus and fried goat cheese, A word of warning, the servings are very large and two appetizers each would have been plenty for a meal. We were not able to finish everything we ordered although it was all excellent. Lots of locals eating here but they did not start to arrive until 9:00 pm or so. The only downside is that seating is on backless wooden benches - opt for a seat beside the wall if you have back issues. Otherwise, the restaurant is great and we would return when back in Lisbon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LittleIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    204
    41
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All round good experience”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I visited the restaurant in Campo Pequeno (at the bull ring) while on a short trip to Lisbon with my boyfriend and his parents. Both his parents are very fussy eaters but we all loved the food, they actually said it was the best food they'd had during their two month visit to Europe. My boyfriend and his Dad had fish, his Mum had an omelette and I had entrecot (steak). Some of the dishes came with legumes do mercado (seasonal vegetables) and these were just so delicious, there was asparagus, carrot, courgette, potato, parsley, etc...you can also request this instead of chips if you prefer veg. It was a Friday night in November and we got the last table so pretty busy but tables are large and spaced out so certainly didn't feel crowded, the place is really nicely lit, mostly low lighting but with more lighting over tables. There were plenty of staff who were attentive and friendly. As for the prices we were surprised that it was actually not expensive at all, with many main dishes between 10€ and 15€. All in all, very good value for money, plenty of choice on the menu, very pleasant and somewhat unique atmosphere, very comfortable, nice staff, great prices. We will definitely eat there again if we go back to Lisbon and will recommend it to friends planning to visit there.
This restaurant would be suitable for couples, families, groups and also business (they do also do tapas and plenty of starter dishes).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SrtaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in very different surroundings”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Three of us went and all were very pleased with what we had. Attentive staff, wonderful food, unusual surroundings and reasonable prices are factors that mean we're quite likely to go there again. Highly recommendable.

Helpful?
Thank Vestegnensrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piriapolis, Uruguay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Find”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just steps from our hotel, we stopped by on a whim and were very pleasantly surprised. I thought the decor a bit modern, but after we were seated I discovered the seating was actually quite comfortable. The food was delicious, the wine list quite satisfactory and the staff exceedingly helpful and attentive without being overbearing. Food was so good, we decided to return the night after our first visit. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UYRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern, fantastic food, great service”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Liked everything. Well cooked food, fresh and varied. Great staff, friendly and spoke English. If you like squid try the starter absolutley fantastic. We went there 3 nights in a row.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank YandC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubro Avenida also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Rubro Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing