We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sukhothai

Sukhothai
Ranked #534 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: Chiado District Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went here whilst on in Lisbon for a long weekend. Excellent food and very friendly service. Would certainly go back when next in the city.

One minor issue was the number of 'beer flies' in the premises.

Centrally located in the main bar and restaurant area. Reasonably priced.

The premises is very small so we were sat with 2 other people at a table for 4.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    75
    46
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If you want authentic Thai food, don't go here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We decided to have dinner here because of the TripAdvisor sign in the window we saw on a stroll through the Bairro Alto. Not a reliable indicator in this case.

The menu is short in comparison with those of excellent Thai restaurants at home. Our favourite Thai ingredient, lemon grass, was not mentioned for any dish, even the soups. The plates we ordered were watery, with flavourless sauces and canned ingredients.

Service was minimal. Despite having been seated by one employee, we were asked to move by another to make room for other customers. Since we had made a reservation, we thought we might be spared something like this.

Not recommended, even if you want that break from Portuguese cooking that comes along sometimes. Try somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VRGFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a Thai restaurant, so not typical Portuguese COZINHA (cod fish, potatoes and carrots), but it is well worth the trip, even for tourists in Lisbon. It is ideally located in Bairro Alto (very central), the owner is Thai and a true restaurant chef and professional in his dealings with the clients, and the food is excellent. We try to eat here once a week, and it is always delicious. The owner spends time providing us with new dishes to try and even creating ones that aren't on the menu when we want something new. I give it a 5 star rating...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ParisGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turre, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great original Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This tiny place is worth several visits. The atmosphere is great and the food.... Just excellent and authentic.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanWillem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai - India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had enquired if the place would be open for Christmas and they told me it would be but to come in early. As promised it showed up by 7. The staff were very friendly. Since it was just one person I wasn't keen on ordering too much. So I ordered their recommendation of the Thai Green currry and rice. It was certainly very good and the portion was quite large. More than enough for one person. They offered to pack the left overs which was still good the following day. The place is really small so if you are going to be there on a weekend I would recommend to make a reservation and for a larger group probably a reservation on any day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sukhothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing