We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Live Music” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grapes & Bites

Grapes & Bites
Reserve with
Grapes & Bites is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: Located in the heart of Lisbon, in a mandatory visit neighborhood as the Bairro Alto, just a few meters away from Chiado, you find in this Wine House a committed team in a relaxed, family atmosphere, accompanied by live music that animates every night. Between the passion for wines of Antonio Baeta and the passion for cuisine of Silvia Mendes, we get the alchemical mixture of two key ingredients that make the success of this house. On the one hand, more than 1000 national references between white, red, green, sparkling and fortified wine, where the vast majority can be tasted by glass, or even taken home bottled, on the other hand, a continuous search for the best Portuguese delicacies turned into simple dishes, but with great flavor, from cheese and sausages boards with homemade jams, to mussels or scallops gratinated, seared canned tuna, or even cod or octopus in the oven. Upstairs this XVIII century building, fully redone, you can find a room for the night in a cozy environment. Six bedrooms, some with private bathroom, a mixed dormitory, a common living room, a common kitchen where breakfasts are served or where you can cook your own food and an outdoor patio, make of this Hostel a selected place for those who like to enjoy the night of Bairro Alto, and want to stick around. Enjoy every moment of the two spaces in a relaxed way and with quality. Wine House Open every day from 12h00 to 24h00.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Live Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Great place for live music and tapas. If you don't have a reservation or are late for yours you will wait. There are tons of places on the same street.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisLABR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    353
    86
    40
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding all around - food, drink, and music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stumbled by this place just as it was opening and sat down and enjoyed one of the best charcuterie and cheese plates we have had in a long time, which we enjoyed with an amazing Portuguese sparkling wine. The guy running around was amazing telling stories about wines and food options - so much so that we left full but with our mouths watering. We returned later that evening, probably around 22:00, and the place was packed full with a line of people waiting. It is worth the wait, and they found a small seat for us right in front of the musician that they had for the night. Another plate of meat, and this time stuffed peppers and a variety of items from their menu - perfectly filling after a day of walking. Absolutely great food, amazing wine selection, good music, and super friendly people - we will definitely stop back when we are in Lisbon again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MEWichmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quality food, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Don't bother e-mailing to book because you won't get a reply. Fortunately, when we turned up there was a table for us but we were lucky because not long after we arrived, the tables rapidly filled up with people even having to stand around waiting in the door way. This is a small restaurant and fills up quickly so I would recommend arriving earlier rather than later or you may not get a table at all. The tables are very small and closely packed together. This makes moving around very difficult and some customers were even having to climb out of windows to be able to come back in through the main door and get to the toilet. The waiters/waitresses are a mixed bag, with some being incredibly competent and knowledgeable about the food and wine and others lacking the confidence. Some members of staff were friendly and others just tipping into the rude side, with sharp, short answers to questions. I even had some of my hair pulled out by a waiter trying to squeeze between my chair and a stone pillar and then getting stuck - there was no apology from him. On the plus side, the service is better than some of the other restaurants in the centre, aimed at the tourists.

The food and drink were excellent. This is a kind of tapas bar. Unfortunately, the dishes arrive on oversized plates which are far too big to fit comfortably on the tiny tables so room for your own eating plate etc is almost non-existent - the table for four was more like a table for two. The chargrilled tuna is particularly delicious.

I'm not raving about this place because I didn't feel that the service and the lay out etc were good enough. However, I would highly recommend it based on the quality of the food and wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 123estelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, music and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We found this after a recommendation from a friend and it certainly didn't disappoint.

The staff greeted us warmly and were extremely helpful and efficient. The choice of food was good and the quality of the food was excellent. Add to that the atmosphere created by the live music supplied by a Brazilian/Angolan duo and it all made for an excellent dining experience.

Although there is a massive range of wines to choose from, there is still the regular array of beers, spirits and soft drinks to choose from, so you needn't be put off by its "wine bar" status.

It is very friendly place with good food, drink and excellent service and well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We (husband, myself, our 4 year old and 4month old in a sling) stumbled on this place, in search for an early dinner (6.30ish), and were very pleased. We stuck to soft drinks and ordered food and they were very accommodating for a winery. We enjoyed the tapas style dishes which included an amazing Octopus salad, appreciating the opportunity to sample modern portuguese food, eating till we were full for a very reasonable 55euro.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yetsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes & Bites also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Grapes & Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing