We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get acquainted with the music & dance of Lisbon & its countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timpanas

Timpanas
Reserve with
Timpanas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,698 of 4,021 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get acquainted with the music & dance of Lisbon & its countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Timpanas is a restaurant with excellent food although the venue is really dedicated to showcasing the music traditional to Lisbon and the music and dance traditional to the countryside near Lisbon. The artists are world class musicians, singers and dancers and recordings of their music/singing or videos of their dance & music are available for sale at the restaurant. Of course I bought one for each musician and singer. I had to bring them back with me.
Interestingly the food and wine is wonderful and reasonable in cost (actually cheap if you consider that it includes the entertainment). The clams "Bulhao do papo" just melted in your mouth and the sauce was wonderful for dipping their hearty bread. They have an extensive wine list but there's no need to fret over a selection. The house recommended wine was delicious. Don't miss Timpanas when you're in Lisbon or you'll miss out on an important component of the Portuguese culture.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BranRor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    17
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,077 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,578 helpful votes
“Touristy, but Delightfully so...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Timpanas is one of those places that's on the list for every tour group that visits the Alfama district. The buses pull up a couple of blocks away and discharge scores of passengers that keep this place in business. So it's touristy? Absolutely; but delightfully so. The maitre d'hotel and his staff are fun to be with and seem to love the Americans that come here for a taste of Fado. We loved them as well. We arrived around 8 PM on a rainy night and were packed in like sardines with barely space for the waiters to serve us. Every space at every table was full with people seated on two levels.

A pre-fixed dinner was served first - a salad, sea bass with potatoes and saffron sauce, and a fruit tart for dessert. A bottle of red wine was ordered for each table. Both dinner and wine were just above average. Enjoyable, yet not over the top. Once dinner dishes were cleared, a Portuguese folk dance troupe performed. They played their own music, sang, and danced in folk costume. Enjoyable performance. They alternated with fado performers.

On the night of our visit, we enjoyed the singing of Celeste Maria, Helder Santos, and the virtuoso guitar playing of Hugo Edgar and Armando Figueiredo. All were enjoyable and gave us a taste of what Fado is all about. Fado is a genre peculiar to Portugal that features mournful and soulful music and lyrics - fatality, melancholy, and longing are recurring motifs in this type of music. I liked the performances even though I was aware that it was a show designed to introduce tourists to the genre.

One thing that really bothered me is that the club had only one entrance with bars on every window. Votive lights were on every table with live candles and the tables were too tightly packed - a veritable fire disaster waiting to happen. I survived the experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Touristy but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food here was good, unlike so many places that offer entertainment. The place looks to be in a questionable neighborhood but is attractive inside. There were several acts, dancers and singers. All were enjoyable. No problem getting a taxi when we left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Fado show with your meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I don't know if it is every night, but the night we were there they had a Fado act and a traditional costume and music act. They have too many tables for the area, we were crowded in on the main floor and then there were other areas with more tables. We were a bus group of 40 and I'd say they had easily 80-90 people in the whole place (it's not that big). We sat right next to the stage and when the dancers pranced around, it was scary - one wrong step and they would have landed in our lap, literally. The food was good, not alot, and not real memorable, just OK. Maybe that wwas because we were a bus group. Can't really talk about prices, because everything was included.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dad414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koudum
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fado House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Book your lisboa by night tour with Cityrama, Gray line at your hotel, but make sure that the same night is booked by portugeese visitors. They will pick you up in front of your hotel and bring you back also (Hotel Miraparque) (multi lingual guide) Most places along the trip you will have seen allready but the Timpanas Fado House will give you the real feeling of fado. Helder Santos was singing with two lady singers during our diner (good with a bottle of wine). A small family dance group performed local song and dances.
We paid € 79,-- p/p which was realy value for your money! The signed CD played at home brings back the nice and warm atmosphere of the evening. (after the show back home at 11.30 pm)
.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teyewies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timpanas also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Timpanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing