We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 lovely evenings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claras em Castelo

Claras em Castelo
Ranked #118 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: The restaurant is open all the week After 9.15 p.m. we do not accept more customers for diner.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 lovely evenings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from 5 days in Lisbon, we spent 2 very nice evenings in Claras em Castelo. Very warm and easy going welcome, a nice glass of Porto outside while reading the days menu,different each day depending on what they have found in the market. Very good home cooking by Portugese wife,and drinks and wine served by husband,(French) who can advise on which wine to have.Very relaxed atmosphere, you feel that you are eating at a friends house.Max 12 diners.Wife pops in and out of the kitchen to see if you are happy, second service offered!We wish them lots of luck and many guests they deserve it! Kate and Francois SWitzereland

Helpful?
7 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    276
    71
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beware the cover charge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I concur with the review made by neamster1 from Kelowna, Canada where he said not to make a trip out of your way to this restaurant. The food was okay (nothing particularly special), but the drinks were very pricy. Also, I hesitate to recommend this restaurant for 2 reasons:
1. We asked for tap water from the wife, who spoke English, and who checked with us what we wanted - and promptly got served with a bottle of mineral water that was opened on its way to our table (and got charged for it).
2. Our food+drinks bill was about 30EUR - 2 mains, 1 starter, 1 dessert, 2 wines, 1 water. However, we got slapped with a cover charge (copperto) of 6EUR (this was not for bread/olives) which was like 20% of our bill. Needless to say we were completely unimpressed. We probably didn't order enough and they probably felt they needed to make up the table value somehow! This is the only place we ate at that had a cover charge on the bill.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ybibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarasEmCastelo, Propriétaire at Claras em Castelo, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We never charge the cover, we are really surprised by your comment and we invite you to read once more your bild.
Perhaps you have misread.
If you have some doubt about the bild you just tell us and we will explain.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our hotel was just next to the castle, so it was great to find such a lovely restaurant without having to climb all the way down to town and then back up again.

Its small but very cosy and the owners made us so welcome. The food was all excellent; I must mention the sardine pate which I had as a starter - delicious. The desserts were scrumptious and we were always comparing desserts in other restaurants to Claras.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hospitality and atmosphere are outstanding!
We were looking for a place to drink a good glass of port and castelo (excuse me stefan) and claras (sorry marguerite) set up a table for us outside and made us feel very welcome .
They served us an excellent port accompanied with a beautiful cheese platter.
The desserts we had afterwards were very good as well.
If you want to have a nice evening in Lisbon go there no one makes you feel more welcome in Lisbon then the owners of this restaurant

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank nicolette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner here in September, the owners are just delightful and after being on the road for a while it was wonderful to feel at home. My mom and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner - loved the Cod, they even gave us a second helping. Wine was wonderful - but most imortantly you really felt like you had come to a friends house for dinner rather than yet another restaurant. Wonderful spot!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claras em Castelo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Claras em Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing