We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix if local and international cuisine.”

Restaurante Marisqueira Quebra Mar
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great mix if local and international cuisine.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The service was great and the waiters recommendation was spot on!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowdycuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    90
    24
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Defintely not fresh fish”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I started with creme de marisco soup, which was like tinned tomato with a solitary tasteless prawn floating in the bowl. The main course was a monkfish skewer. The monkfish was chewy, dry and tasteless with over salted ham on the skewer to give it flavour. This was accompanied by cold vegetables and potatoes. Wine was OK and cheap. Service was fine but nothing special. My impression is of a restaurant making its money from tourists in the surrounding big hotels. It was not expensive but would much rather have avoided the experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks. UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent value....”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great food, staff very attentive.... And good value..... Would recommend. Nothing was too much trouble. We had five jugs of sangria and five main courses and it came to 140 euros!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanpiitt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, simple food and a no-nonsense restaurant”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

After a long day of sightseeing, I was hungry and this restaurant was reasonably close to my hotel. I asked to eat at the bar, not wanting to take up a table when it was just me. It was clear that the people behind the bar either didn't speak English or that they didn't know what to do with me. I guess they don't get many solo visitors, or that their solo visitors don't ask to sit at the bar that often.

They had a waiter come over to me, and I ordered the grilled mixed seafood platter. They brought out the bread with butter and sardine paste (both in plastic containers - not very appetizing looking if you ask me). I didn't have any of that stuff. After a while, the food came out and it was very good. I got quite a bit of food. The plate contained a grilled sardine, a big shrimp or prawn, half of a salmon steak that was around half an inch thick, a chunk of mackerel, and some other sort of oily fish. Not sure what it was, and since the guys behind the bar basically ignored me I didn't have anyone to ask.

The food was plentiful and well cooked. It came with boiled potatoes (which must have been boiled in crack - they were simple, but tasted very good, just lightly salted) and some mushy veggies. The seafood was very good - maybe slightly salty, but not overly so.

I thought the food offered tremendous value. I had a beer, a mineral water, and the seafood platter and paid only 14.50 Euros. I went to other places that served less food that wasn't nearly as good, and paid a great deal more.

Definitely worth a visit if you are looking for some simple food and not a lot of fussing over.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very well located, at Av. da Liberdade, QUEBRA MAR, is not a de luxe restaurant, but a fine place to have a good dinner. Dishes are not very big, but they have a fair price. Good service makes an invitation for a second time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOAO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Marisqueira Quebra Mar also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing