We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised by this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beira Gare

Beira Gare
Ranked #478 of 4,049 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
477 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Surprised by this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were walking around the heart of the city and rarely would I pay attention to someone shoving a menu in front of you to come in. But was interested in the delicious sliced pork they were cooking in the window so we decided to try. Boy, am I glad we stopped in. The place almost looks like a diner so very casual. The food was just excellent. We had clams for appetizer. The other three dishes were octopus, the sliced pork, and seafood in a pot. All were wonderful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    173
    49
    14
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect combination of food quality, location, service and moderate price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

After two days of culinary mistakes, we were really lucky to have tasted unforgettable mixture of fresh, perfectly done see food, being warmly welcomed and hosted with a perfect, friendly service in this quite noisy but climatic place. We went back the very next day to tase another master pieces, being happy to share our opinion with the staff. I do recommend to all who expect good food and service for exchange of a moderate price, which may seem uncommon, especially in the heart of Lisbon, near Rossio. Best regards to the blond hair man who took care of us twice - you are the master! Chapeu bas for your and your colleagues hard work, indeed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paweł P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best Place to Try Bifana!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We found Beira Gare by accident when we were walking near Rossio Train Station.
They serve a very juicy Bifana sandwich, and they are superb!
I liked their wet style of Bifana better than the dry style I ate at O Trevo in Chiado.
With a glass of cold beer, you are in heaven!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PTRABBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standout Bifana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I tried the Bifana at quite a few Lisbon cafes and this one was by far the best - enormous slabs of tender pork with the bread soaking up the juices. Can't vouch for anything else, but the Bifana was obscenely good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyGuano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Such good Bifana!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We called in here in August 2013. Having flown into Lisbon earlier that morning, we were keen to try some local fare, and get back out into the sunshine.
We stood at the bar, very Euro, and enjoyed a Bifana and beer each. Both were placed in front of us within minutes and very tasty, the bread roll soaking up the juices from the slow cooked pork. Less than 8 Euros for two beers and two Bifanas, we were refuelled and recharged and on our way in no time at all. Our best Bifana during our trip to Portugal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beira Gare also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Beira Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing